Best Ever Chocolate Cutout Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 26, 2012
It's not very often I have the time to come back and rate a recipe but I have to say these could even be better then a chocolate chip cookie. It's like a split between a cookie and soft fudgy brownie. The only change I made in the recipe is that I used an egg replacer cause my son has an allergy. By far the best cookie :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
Really the best chocolate cutout cookies! Great taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carmen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Puerto Ordaz, Bolívar, Venezuela
Living In: Barcelona, Cataluna, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MeNWiggles
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
Amazing Cookies! Used advice about adding an extra egg yolk, and we used cocoa powder rather than flour when rolling out dough and using the cookie cutters. GREAT FLAVOR!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
YUMMMMY! Try this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
I added and an extra egg yolk and a few chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn1980

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
I followed the recipe but, as mentioned by others, also added 1 t vanilla and swapped out 1/4 c shortening for part of the butter. I had Droste dutch process cocoa on hand, so I used that. I chilled half the dough in the freezer for about 15 minutes while I rolled out the first half, which I didn't even bother to chill at all. I used a sheet of silicon (like Silpat) on which to roll out the cookies. It made the job SO simple! I found it helped to peel off the little scraps of dough around the cookies and then use a very thin metal cookie spatula to lift them onto my cookie sheets, which I had rinsed in very cold water and dried before putting the cookies on it. I baked them for 10 minutes. Yield: 42 very thin 3" cookies. They *are* brownie-like in flavor, even as thin and crispy as they are. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
Delicious cookie, simple to make. They fell apart too easily though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clifton Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
This is my go-to recipe for rolled chocolate cookies. As per other reviewers, I add a tsp of vanilla, occasionally add an extra egg yolk if I'm baking other stuff that'll use the white, and I always roll the dough out on cocoa powder. For cocoa, I use about half Hershey's Special Dark (which is a blend of regular and Dutch) and half regular. This makes the cookies very dark, which offsets the sweetness of royal icing decorations very nicely. I also roll them with my 1/4" guides and bake for 8 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimberlychapman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitby, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
Have tried recipe twice and both times my cookies are crumbly and dry. Very few were eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ardmore, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
These were terrific: easy to make and very tasty. I used this recipe rather than gingerbread (which hardly anyone wants to eat) to make the moose cookies I bake every year. Now they're chocolate moose cookies which makes them even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake the perfect chocolate chip cookie.

Absolutely the Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Try these addictive cookies, featuring milk-chocolate chips. Mmm.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States