Best Ever Chocolate Cutout Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
I enjoyed the true cocoa flavor but found them to be too hard....I like a softer cookie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Franklin, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
I've had tastier cookies, but these work great if you want black cookies to decorate for Halloween. They have a plain cocoa flavor like an oreo, but they look great! I halved the batch but still used a whole egg, so that might have helped keep them chewy. For a full batch I would use two eggs instead of one. I made these with half a batch of plain sugar cookies, and then made black cats out of the chocolate cookies and ghosts out of the sugar cookies. The chocolate dough is a little sticky, so be sure to keep it cold and use lots of cocoa powder dusted on the board. And be careful not to overbake them since you won't see any color change. The dark cookies look really striking with any decorations you put on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: San Marcos, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
I do not know what happened here...I followed the recipe as stated. The dough was incredibly crumbly, I had to use my hands to get it together out of the bowl. I was able to eventually roll out several cookies and while they tasted very good I was disappointed that the work involved and I was unable to make the cookies for my daughter's class for a Halloween party. Good taste, yes. But consistency is off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
I made these cookies the other day. This recipe is the best chocolate cookie recipe I have ever made! When I added the egg, I also added one egg yolk. They didn't break, and baked up nice and chewy. I had some sitting on the counter for two days uncovered and they didn't get hard! Very brownie-like cookies. My kids ask me everyday to make more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Greenebeans

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
If I could give this recipe NO STARS I would have. Despite following the recipe (and many of the suggestions) quite carefully and refrigerating for well over two hours, it wouldn't even come close to holding together long enough to cut shapes out of it. This is defiitely NOT the Best Ever Chocolate Cutout Cookie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cumberland, Maryland, USA
Living In: Salisbury, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
Great for BATS! Great for REINDEER! I added an extra egg yolk. I rolled the dough between two sheets of saran wrap to 1/2 inch thick, dipped the cutter in in cocoa, and baked the cookies for 10 minutes. Use a great icing recipe that hardens with a shine to paint the reindeer white. I frosted with chocolate frosting and put down Halloween m and m's for the eyes. Spooky and Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
Wow! These are *so* yummy! I added a teaspoon of vanilla to the dough, and my dough was very stiff (my hand-held mixer was having trouble with it and, needless to say, it needed no refrigeration), but my kitchen smelled heavenly while the cookies were baking. I baked the first batch for seven minutes, but found after they cooled that they were a little too hard for my liking, so I baked the second batch for 6 minutes. Perfect! Thanks for the great recipe -- it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
These were fantastic, chocolatey cookies. I added 1 t of vanilla in with the eggs, which worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
Easy to work with and really yummy too. My five year old had a great time cutting them out. Thanks for a great recipe! The only thing I did different was to add a teaspoon of vanilla along with the egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
This recipe was wonderful the dough was perfect for young and old alike to use. And they were a hit I made almost a hundred cookies and they were gone in a flash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 207) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Absolutely the Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Try these addictive cookies, featuring milk-chocolate chips. Mmm.

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake the perfect chocolate chip cookie.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States