Best Ever Chocolate Cutout Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
I'm not sure what happened but I followed the directions and when I took the dough out to roll it was so crumbly. I add another egg and some vanilla so the dough would stick just a little. Got about 20 cookies had to throw out the rest of the dough. The cookies smelled wonderful baking but tasted very bad. Sorry will not try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashport, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
These are outstanding. Oh Chocolate Cutout Cookie Recipe, where have you been all my life? So pretty with sprinkles on them. And tasty, a nice change from sugar cookies. They are rich, like oreos. The batter was amazing to work with. I rolled between wax paper and did not need flour for rolling. Perfection! Thank You!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bernardsville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cartersville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
Big winner in our house. I followed the recipe without changes, but found that they were much better when only cooked 8 minutes (not 10). Frosted with chocolate frosting - family loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
I don't know why this recipe didn't work out for me. They looked beautiful, but I did not care for the taste. I didn't use the modifications of adding the vanilla or cinnamon, so maybe that was the problem. It was just not sweet like a cookie should be and I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
These were very chocolatey, and made a great halloween cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggie K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farragut, Iowa, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
These held their shape well, and they tasted like crispy brownies. They were perfect. I didn't roll them out like it said here, but i only rolled out small sections and kept the rest of the dough in the fridge to keep it cold. These were wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Dekalb, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
I was very disappointed with this recipe. I followed the directions to the T, put it in the fridge for 2 hours, and it came out as hard as a rock. I wasn't able to roll it out at all. When it did soften up a little, it was crumbly and didn't stay together. This was a total waste of time and ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Leeshe
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
3 stars for delicious, our only beef which is a big one with this recipe is the refrigeration time, way too long and it's too dry and crumbly. To solve this problem we finally came up with the idea to add a bit of milk to it, this made it way more manageable. So ya with the knowledge we have, the next time we make these it will be better! The smell as they baked was heavenly to say the least! Even the dough smelt delicious. I had to use a bigger cut out, ya like someone said earlier bats worked great. Our cat and Witch though did not work as extremities kept falling off! These were decorated with the hard icing, which works great for stacking on top of one another when dry of course. They looked really good with a orange border all the way around them! What fun these added to our Halloween!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taber, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
Pretty good added cinnamon and the vanilla which made a big difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nikki4187

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
I enjoyed the true cocoa flavor but found them to be too hard....I like a softer cookie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Franklin, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake the perfect chocolate chip cookie.

Absolutely the Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Try these addictive cookies, featuring milk-chocolate chips. Mmm.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States