Best Ever Chocolate Cutout Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
Make Mine Mexican Chocolate! My favorite version combines many of tips provided by others- subs. 1/4C butter for shortening; add in one egg yolk & 1 tsp vanilla to wet ingredients; added 3/4 tsp cinnamon and a dash of red pepper to the dry ingredients. Found that I needed to chill the dough- in fact found it rolled out better when not chilled. When rolling, used 1 part cocoa powder and 2 parts flour- rolls great and doesn't dusty up the finished cookies or leave a film like straight cocoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
I made heart cut-outs for my 5th grade son's class Valentine's Day party. Dough was easy to work with and cookies were a hit! I rolled my dough out between two layers of parchment and baked the cut-out shapes right on the parchment--works great, doesn't add extra flour to the dough and no flour mess to clean up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
These cookies taste amazing! While the dough is a little tough to work with at first, adding enough flour when rolling out the dough solved all of my problems. I made the cookies a little thicker than suggested and used a heart shaped cookie cutter. After that, I decorated them with icing. Perfect for Valentine's Day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
These absolutely delicious cookies taste a lot like brownies. I followed the advice of making some modifications (add an egg yolk, 1 tsp of vanilla, and 1 tsp of cinnamon), and they came out great. I did have trouble with breakage, though, when I didn't grease the cookie sheet well enough and I let the cookies cool on the tray -- but when I removed them immediately from a well-greased tray, the problem was solved. Btw, I made these as Valentine's Day cookies (heart-shaped), and they were a big hit with my son's preschool class.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
These are a great adult chocolate cookie. My kids didn't think they were sweet enough. I did have to kneed about 3 TBS. of flour in order to stiffen up the dough enough to make cut out cookies. I thought they had a nice chocolate flavor and were tasty with a peanutbutter cream sandwiched between them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany Reed-Shoemaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
I might make this again. The dough came out very hard after refrigeration, but it became softer after some kneading & rolling. I followed the recipe exactly and it was very easy to make cut-out cookies, but the edges became puffy after baking, so the cookie doesn't hold the shape if you have very elaborate cookie cutters. I didn't mind that it wasn't too sweet but the cookie was very hard and not too much flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
Great recipe! I added crushed almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
HELP...i made this recipe but i dont know why the dough keeps falling apart and breaking when i roll it out.. please tell me what i did wrong.i followed exact ingredience exept i added one extra egg yolk..i rapped them in wax paper and left in fridge over night.but i didnt put them in plastic bag.. only in wax paper..but they were rapped well.. please send me any suggestions cuase my husband really loved the taste and i did too.. would love it if i could get it right...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Madelaine Yee-Lee
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
Mmmm so yums and so easy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Madelaine Yee-Lee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
I must say these were a disappointment. The kids liked them, hence the 2 stars, but the adults wouldn't eat a second one. They were very dull, with little to no sweetness. I even used a confectioner's sugar and milk icing, but no luck getting them sweeter. Think I will stick to plain sugar cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bartlett, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 209) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Absolutely the Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Try these addictive cookies, featuring milk-chocolate chips. Mmm.

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake the perfect chocolate chip cookie.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States