Best Ever Chocolate Cutout Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
I'm giving this recipie 5 stars with the modifications I made. I substituted 1/4 c. of the butter with shortening and also added 1 egg yolk. I also found that rolling them out just a bit thicker than 1/8'', baking them for 7 minutes and using parchment paper kept them from breaking apart. I ended up with cookies that were SO CHOCOLATEY WONDERFUL and tasted a lot like brownies. They were gorgeous with the "sugar cookie icing" recipie from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
332 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by treatdream

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2003
Instead of using flour when cutting out shapes, use cocoa powder! That way you cant see the flour after baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
234 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: White Plains, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
These turned out great with modifications. I followed advice of other reviewers and added: 1t. vanilla, 1/2 t. cinnamon and an extra egg yolk. I also rolled them out a little thicker than the recipe called for. I did not refrigerate the dough at all and the dough was fine - even with my young kids making the cut-out cookies. We will make these again for something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
169 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SSWITT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Photo by Eden
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
I made a double version of this recipe for my sons Halloween party at school. They were not only absolutely fabulous, but also DELICIOUS! It's like mini brownie cookies with a crisp yummy texture. This recipe would be great for anyone, even people who are novice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eden

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2005
Well, after all these wonderful reviews, I have to wonder why this recipe doesn't work for me. I bake a lot and have tried this recipe three times now, and every time, the cookies fall apart either when they're being removed from the cookie sheet or when they're being handled as I frost/decorate them. They taste good--very rich--, roll out easily, and cut easily, but it's Cookie Crumb City from then on. 'Disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2002
I liked this cookie! It had a really good chocolate flavor but not too sweet. It was simple to make, too. I skipped the cutout part (too time consuming) and just formed the dough into two logs about 2-3 inches wide. When it was chilled I sliced it into 1/8" slices. I baked it on parchment for about 9 minutes. These would be perfect with coffee or to make your own ice cream sandwiches. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RENEE35
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
This is a great recipe and I will make it again. I had no problem with the consistency of the dough and followed the recipe to a T. Make sure you use only room temp softened butter, measure the exact amount of ingredients (no eyeballing it) and chill the dough for 2 hours. TIP! Cover the dough in wax paper in the fridge during chilling. After you pull it out, roll it between 2 sheets of wax paper. You have no issues with sticking, flour doesn't mar the pretty brown dough. Thanks for sharing your Grandmother's recipe! She was a great cook!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2005
These cookies were very tasty! I liked them a bit thicker and soft and my boyfriend liked them a little crispier. Either way they were even better when we drizzled them with melted white chocolate chips, caramel and a good chocolate bar with nuts in it! It was like eating a really gooey brownie, but easier to manage!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2002
We LOVED this cookie recipe! I made them for Valentine's Day this week, icing them with an almond-flavored confectionary glaze in pink and white. They were very pretty--but, more importantly, very yummy! I love sugar cookies, so these were right up my alley. I think my kids still prefer traditional sugar cookies, but they enjoyed these too. Recipe was very simple and the cookies really kept their shape nicely. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2001
WOW, What great chocolate flavor!! My kids loved them! They are very easy to make!! Simple ingredients. Let the dough warm up a little after refridgerating its easier to roll and use flour to roll them on, they come up easy with a spatula after you roll them to transfer them to your cookie sheet. Yummy, these didnt last long!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake the perfect chocolate chip cookie.

Absolutely the Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Try these addictive cookies, featuring milk-chocolate chips. Mmm.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States