Best Ever Chocolate Cutout Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
These are pretty good. They taste similar to a thin brownie. Used the recipe to make bumble bee "B" cookies for preschoolers, and they turned out really cute!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Went with an additional whole egg and added some more spices - it was soft, but after refrigerating it overnight it worked out well. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
Super delicious and unbelievably easy! The dough seemed a little on the dry side but they turned out perfect. I don't like my cookies overly sweet, so I cut down the sugar to 1 cup and it was just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
These turned out pretty good- really rich and chocolately. However, I did follow others' advice and added a teaspoon of vanilla and an extra egg. I ended up making them a bit thicker as well. Good for bigger stencils but fell apart in any shapes that had littler pieces (like with Rudolph's antlers).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ally Windham
Home Town: Palm Bay, Florida, USA
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
Awesome cookies! They taste just like brownies, but they look so very pretty! These will become a staple in our home from now on! Everybody loved them! How did we do it: we added vanilla and cinnamon, as other reviewers suggested and rolled them just a bit thicker. They didn't break as long as they stayed flat. They are fragile though, not hard as the white sugar cookies I have tried so far, but who cares?.... They disappear so very quickly, nobody notices the head of the snowman broke of... No crumbling though, whatsoever! I don't know why other reviewers had that problem. Ours came out perfect! Thanks for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kyra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
These were awesome! So tasty! They are like very rich brownie-cookies. I used Special Dark cocoa powder which made them darker in color and they had a dark chocolate taste. I had no trouble with the dough being crumbly. It mixed up very well and once it was chilled, it was easy to work with. I used cocoa powder instead of flour to roll these out and that worked nicely and the cookies looked neater with no white streaks. I did notice that if you make the cut outs too thick, they are more apt to break. I baked these for 8 or 9 minutes, then let them cool on the sheet for 5 minutes. I drizzled them with red and green confectioners glaze for christmas and it was very striking against the almost black cookies. The only change I made to the recipe was to add 1 tsp. of vanilla to the dough. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe - it will become a regular for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
I cut down on the sugar, added more flour. Taste is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kate
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
These cookies were delightful - I let them cool and sifted powdered sugar on top, which added just the right amount of sweetness. I was in a time crunch, so I didn't refrigerate, but I was still able to roll out and use cookie cutters without a hitch! Roll out thicker and store in a sealed container for chewy cookies; thinner and store uncovered for crisp ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
we followed the recipe to a T and found it to be bland. My kids will eat one every once in a while, but I will not be making them again....not every recipe is for everyone :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrichardson3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holmen, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
This is a great soft cookie, easy to make, the hardest part was waiting a little over an hour for them in the fridge, they are a easy cookie to break apart but I found that taking one stick of butter straight from fridge and microwaving fo 12 sec made it soft enough to use and adding 1/4 cp shortning made the doug easy to roll even without puttng in fridge, also to make sure you don't break them leave them on cookie shet for about 5 min they harden enough to take out with spatula, and for a nice topper just use about 1cup of powder sugar mixed with 2 and 1/2 table spoons of milk, just stir mixure, and put in ziplock bag with small hole and decorate your cookies, its best to let them set out for about 4min an th frostng will harden up
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake the perfect chocolate chip cookie.

Absolutely the Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Try these addictive cookies, featuring milk-chocolate chips. Mmm.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States