Best Ever Chocolate Cutout Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
I'm a cookie baker to the core and I will say that this is an excellent recipe! I'm so glad you shared!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
good taste, bad consistency. Impossible to roll out, had to roll into a ball to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
Delicious, very chocolatey cookies. I add 1/4t cinnamon and 1/8t cayenne--it doesn't make the cookies spicy, but elevates the other flavors. The dough is very easy to work with just hand-rolling it into logs and chopping off rounds. With cookies about 1in x 3/16in and a bit more baking time (12-15min.), you get a wonderful texture, al dente on the outside and soft when you bite in. I roll the logs and toss each cookie in a 2/2/1 mix of flour, cocoa and sugar. I don't refrigerate the dough, but often pause to turn on the oven and wash some dishes or just take a break after the logs are rolled out, before I chop them up. My sifting method is a quart bell jar and a butter knife :) I mix the dry ingredients in the jar, 'sift' them gradually to another container with the knife, play whack-a-mole with any visible clumps, and it all gets sifted again going into the dough. It's quicker and more effective than a colander. I'll put my complete recipe up on my blog, Flavors of Daylight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
These were great! I followed advice of other reviewers and added: 1t. vanilla, 1/2 t. cinnamon and an extra egg yolk. I rolled them out without refrigeration and had no problem, they were a little sticky but not too hard. I did it on freezer paper to make it easier. So good! Made them thicker and cooked less time and they were nice and soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
People did ask for this recipe when I made them! They taste like brownies but in a cookie... SO good! I made some 2 inch wide heart shapes for a friend's wedding shower - they were a big hit as you could pop a whole one in your mouth ;) Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
I love the recipe, have used it several times. This time I am going to try it out with caster sugar rather than sugar - fingers crossed :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
easy to make! and satisfies your chocolate cravings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smalltowngirl91

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
For flavor, I give this recipe 5 stars. Unfortunately, like other reviewers, I had an issue with most of them breaking apart while getting them off the pan. Even still, the flavor was so good that I will make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Silverwing05
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
The flavor of this cookie is wonderful. They remind of a crisp brownie. The dough was a bit crumbly and kept pulling up with the rolling pin, had to use a good dusting of cocoa powder. I would recomend rolling dough out on parchment paper, cut out shapes, then remove excess dough to prevent cookies from falling apart during tranfer to a baking sheet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Silverwing05

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hartford, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mrsrussellinoz
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
The dough was far too dry! I tried to add a bit more butter after it was all mixed together - that was hard. I only used 1 cup of sugar and it was sweet enough. I just wanted a chocolate sugar cookie recipe to make "Tiny Teddies" and essentially that's what I got. Tastes good and that is what matters most. Next time I will add vanilla & a 2nd egg
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake the perfect chocolate chip cookie.

Absolutely the Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Try these addictive cookies, featuring milk-chocolate chips. Mmm.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States