Best Ever Chocolate Cutout Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
My dough was very dry, so dry that I had to mix in more butter and even added milk to make up for the lack of moisture. The dough also kept drying out and I had to keep adding milk to it for it to be workable. Because the dough was so dry the cookies were also dry. I will probably make these again but up the butter to a full cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerri Miller

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saginaw, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Lewis, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
These were amazing! In the past I usually have trouble with cookie cutter type cookies, however these were great. I never had trouble with the rolling and they never fell apart at any point even after they were baked. They tasted great and they still had a slightly soft texture, which I preferred. I highly recommend these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
we just tried to make these cookies and didn't care for the recipe, followed the directions perfectly and the dough was so hard it was unable to be "rolled" properly, thumbs down!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
I'm a cookie baker to the core and I will say that this is an excellent recipe! I'm so glad you shared!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Onnie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
good taste, bad consistency. Impossible to roll out, had to roll into a ball to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
Delicious, very chocolatey cookies. I add 1/4t cinnamon and 1/8t cayenne--it doesn't make the cookies spicy, but elevates the other flavors. The dough is very easy to work with just hand-rolling it into logs and chopping off rounds. With cookies about 1in x 3/16in and a bit more baking time (12-15min.), you get a wonderful texture, al dente on the outside and soft when you bite in. I roll the logs and toss each cookie in a 2/2/1 mix of flour, cocoa and sugar. I don't refrigerate the dough, but often pause to turn on the oven and wash some dishes or just take a break after the logs are rolled out, before I chop them up. My sifting method is a quart bell jar and a butter knife :) I mix the dry ingredients in the jar, 'sift' them gradually to another container with the knife, play whack-a-mole with any visible clumps, and it all gets sifted again going into the dough. It's quicker and more effective than a colander. I'll put my complete recipe up on my blog, Flavors of Daylight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
These were great! I followed advice of other reviewers and added: 1t. vanilla, 1/2 t. cinnamon and an extra egg yolk. I rolled them out without refrigeration and had no problem, they were a little sticky but not too hard. I did it on freezer paper to make it easier. So good! Made them thicker and cooked less time and they were nice and soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
People did ask for this recipe when I made them! They taste like brownies but in a cookie... SO good! I made some 2 inch wide heart shapes for a friend's wedding shower - they were a big hit as you could pop a whole one in your mouth ;) Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
I love the recipe, have used it several times. This time I am going to try it out with caster sugar rather than sugar - fingers crossed :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
easy to make! and satisfies your chocolate cravings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smalltowngirl91

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 209) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Absolutely the Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Try these addictive cookies, featuring milk-chocolate chips. Mmm.

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake the perfect chocolate chip cookie.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States