Best Ever Chocolate Cutout Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
These were terrific: easy to make and very tasty. I used this recipe rather than gingerbread (which hardly anyone wants to eat) to make the moose cookies I bake every year. Now they're chocolate moose cookies which makes them even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
Wonderful recipe. I added a capful of vanilla and chilled the dough overnight. The dough is BEAUTIFUL, and rolled out like fondant. Thicker cookies came out soft and chewy; thinner came out crisp--BOTH thick and thin have a wonderful chocolate-y flavor and are delicious! Thanks for sharing this great recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
very tasty and easy to roll out. Loved them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chrissi Tucker Kuligowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Margate, Florida, USA
Living In: North Tonawanda, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
I was testing a few different chocolate rollout sugar cookies and these were by far the best. So chocolatey, didn't lose their shape, and chewy in the middle. I followed recommendations and added an egg yolk. I rolled them out to 1/4" thick and baked for 9 min for smaller shapes and 11 min for larger shapes. Took them to a cookie swap with peanut butter icing and won!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
Such a great, easy recipe for something a little different! I add 1 1/2 tsp. of vanilla and an extra egg yolk but other than that stick with the recipe. I ended of chilling my dough longer than planned (3hrs) because my 1 year old wasn't in the mood to share my focus but I think it helped in the long run. When rolling out dough use more cocoa powder instead of flour so you don't ruin the look with white baked on flour and roll out between sheets of parchment paper for the easiest experience. DON'T overbake! these turn out great, like a brownie flavored sugar cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alexis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orland, California, USA
Living In: Red Bluff, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Tasted ok, but far too dry to roll. I could have worked with it however I never would have gotten out of it the # of cookies I required, so I rolled them into balls. I'll stick with my regular cookie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Excellent. They taste like brownies! The only change I made was to sub. 1/4 c of shortening for butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Pierce, Florida, USA
Living In: Lake City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Excellent recipe, kids loved it and cut them themselves! Nice taste and texture, easy dough to work with, needs chilling just as any cut-out cookie! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Athens, Attica, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
My dough was very dry, so dry that I had to mix in more butter and even added milk to make up for the lack of moisture. The dough also kept drying out and I had to keep adding milk to it for it to be workable. Because the dough was so dry the cookies were also dry. I will probably make these again but up the butter to a full cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerri Miller

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saginaw, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Lewis, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
These were amazing! In the past I usually have trouble with cookie cutter type cookies, however these were great. I never had trouble with the rolling and they never fell apart at any point even after they were baked. They tasted great and they still had a slightly soft texture, which I preferred. I highly recommend these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 207) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Absolutely the Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Try these addictive cookies, featuring milk-chocolate chips. Mmm.

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake the perfect chocolate chip cookie.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States