Best Ever Chocolate Cutout Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I made these cookies to add some chocolate to my Christmas cookie tray. They were a big hit. I took the suggestion of the one reviewer and substituted 1/4 cup of shorting for a 1/4 cup of butter and added an egg yolk. I didn't have too many problems with the dough when I kept it thick enough. I simply sprinkled them with powdered sugar after they had cooled, and both looked and tasted great! Didn't have any leftover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
I added one more egg and it was a good texture. Adding to the recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Delicious! I also added an extra egg yolk and actually added 1 Tbsp of vanilla (by mistake :) then i refrigerated the dough overnight. The next day I cutout the cookies and chilled them on the pans for like 10 minutes before putting them in the oven. They came out awesome - and taste chocolately good :) A keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by franybanany
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
Mine were soft and tasty. Very chocolatey. I did add the extra egg and vanilla like others said. Baked at 325 for 7 minutes on parchment paper so they were soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by franybanany
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
Good but not great recipe. The cookies really need to be refrigerated twice to totally retain their shape. Once for the 2 hours as directed and a 2nd time after they are cut out and on the cookie tray. I found that one batch which I cut out and got in the oven immediately did a pretty good job of retaining their shape. The batch I made w. my kids (so it took longer to cut out and re-roll and the dough got handled more) spread quite a bit more. The taste of the cookies is very chocolatey, if kind of one-dimensional. I'd made it again, but with a few things to enhance. Probably double strength vanilla and a bit more flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
Very chocolatey, chewy browny like cookie! I made this recipe as is, but I decided to add 1 tsp. of vanilla extract for a more aromatic cookie. I didn't want the cookies to taste too much like flour, because I've had bad experiences in the past with cut out cookies tasting like flour. SO! intead rolled the dough between 2 sheets of waxed paper and this made a non-floury tasting cookie and also kept them from sticking to the surface. This cookie recipe would definately make great Ice cream sandwiches. Fill them with vanilla Ice cream and roll in chocolate chips or nuts, Yum! The only thing I would change next time is intead of adding 3/4 c. of coco powder, only add 2/3 c. They are a bit to bitter for my likeing. All in all a good chocolate cut out cookie! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
Delicious!!!! I just baked them following the recipe and the only modification that I made was using splenda instead of sugar to save some calories and they came out great. Rich chocolaty flavor. A keeper!!! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
great day made them too hard following day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
This dough is difficult to work with. Super sticky (had to roll it between two silpats) and the dough would even stick to my cut out molds. What a pain!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jay Baker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
These were well loved by my son's preschool class and their parents. We topped with chocolate icing and Transformers candy toppers. My son wanted chocolate cookies and I was so excited to find this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake the perfect chocolate chip cookie.

Absolutely the Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Try these addictive cookies, featuring milk-chocolate chips. Mmm.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States