Best Ever Chocolate Cutout Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
Very yummy... I made these in the shape of leaves for my daughter's story time fall party at the library. All the kids loved them. I decorated them with the "Sugar Cookie Icing" recipe from this site. They cut out beautifully with our cookie cutters, and I didn't even refridgerate mine. I followed a lot of the recomendations from other reviews as far as adding extra ingredients/ subs to make the dough better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaclyn & Anthony

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Livingston, California, USA
Living In: Sumter, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
These were excellent with a few modifications. I added a pinch of cinnamon, a little vanilla, an extra egg yolk, and substituted crisco for 1/2 the butter. I rolled it between waxed paper. When rolled and cut, I put them in the freezer for a few minutes before transfering them to my cookie sheet because the dough was very soft. They had a great flavor that both children and adults enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
I would say these were ok..... when you put the dough in the fridge they got hard as a rock, so I would skip that. They were just ok cookies I thought. Next time I think I will just add cocoa to my sugar cookie recipe like I normally do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
I'm not sure what happened but I followed the directions and when I took the dough out to roll it was so crumbly. I add another egg and some vanilla so the dough would stick just a little. Got about 20 cookies had to throw out the rest of the dough. The cookies smelled wonderful baking but tasted very bad. Sorry will not try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashport, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
These are outstanding. Oh Chocolate Cutout Cookie Recipe, where have you been all my life? So pretty with sprinkles on them. And tasty, a nice change from sugar cookies. They are rich, like oreos. The batter was amazing to work with. I rolled between wax paper and did not need flour for rolling. Perfection! Thank You!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bernardsville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cartersville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
Big winner in our house. I followed the recipe without changes, but found that they were much better when only cooked 8 minutes (not 10). Frosted with chocolate frosting - family loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
I don't know why this recipe didn't work out for me. They looked beautiful, but I did not care for the taste. I didn't use the modifications of adding the vanilla or cinnamon, so maybe that was the problem. It was just not sweet like a cookie should be and I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
These were very chocolatey, and made a great halloween cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggie K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farragut, Iowa, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
These held their shape well, and they tasted like crispy brownies. They were perfect. I didn't roll them out like it said here, but i only rolled out small sections and kept the rest of the dough in the fridge to keep it cold. These were wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Dekalb, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
I was very disappointed with this recipe. I followed the directions to the T, put it in the fridge for 2 hours, and it came out as hard as a rock. I wasn't able to roll it out at all. When it did soften up a little, it was crumbly and didn't stay together. This was a total waste of time and ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 209) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Absolutely the Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Try these addictive cookies, featuring milk-chocolate chips. Mmm.

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake the perfect chocolate chip cookie.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States