Best Ever Chocolate Cutout Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
These absolutely delicious cookies taste a lot like brownies. I followed the advice of making some modifications (add an egg yolk, 1 tsp of vanilla, and 1 tsp of cinnamon), and they came out great. I did have trouble with breakage, though, when I didn't grease the cookie sheet well enough and I let the cookies cool on the tray -- but when I removed them immediately from a well-greased tray, the problem was solved. Btw, I made these as Valentine's Day cookies (heart-shaped), and they were a big hit with my son's preschool class.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
These are a great adult chocolate cookie. My kids didn't think they were sweet enough. I did have to kneed about 3 TBS. of flour in order to stiffen up the dough enough to make cut out cookies. I thought they had a nice chocolate flavor and were tasty with a peanutbutter cream sandwiched between them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
I might make this again. The dough came out very hard after refrigeration, but it became softer after some kneading & rolling. I followed the recipe exactly and it was very easy to make cut-out cookies, but the edges became puffy after baking, so the cookie doesn't hold the shape if you have very elaborate cookie cutters. I didn't mind that it wasn't too sweet but the cookie was very hard and not too much flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
Great recipe! I added crushed almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
HELP...i made this recipe but i dont know why the dough keeps falling apart and breaking when i roll it out.. please tell me what i did wrong.i followed exact ingredience exept i added one extra egg yolk..i rapped them in wax paper and left in fridge over night.but i didnt put them in plastic bag.. only in wax paper..but they were rapped well.. please send me any suggestions cuase my husband really loved the taste and i did too.. would love it if i could get it right...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Madz902
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
Mmmm so yums and so easy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
I must say these were a disappointment. The kids liked them, hence the 2 stars, but the adults wouldn't eat a second one. They were very dull, with little to no sweetness. I even used a confectioner's sugar and milk icing, but no luck getting them sweeter. Think I will stick to plain sugar cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bartlett, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
Very yummy... I made these in the shape of leaves for my daughter's story time fall party at the library. All the kids loved them. I decorated them with the "Sugar Cookie Icing" recipe from this site. They cut out beautifully with our cookie cutters, and I didn't even refridgerate mine. I followed a lot of the recomendations from other reviews as far as adding extra ingredients/ subs to make the dough better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaclyn & Anthony

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Livingston, California, USA
Living In: Sumter, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
These were excellent with a few modifications. I added a pinch of cinnamon, a little vanilla, an extra egg yolk, and substituted crisco for 1/2 the butter. I rolled it between waxed paper. When rolled and cut, I put them in the freezer for a few minutes before transfering them to my cookie sheet because the dough was very soft. They had a great flavor that both children and adults enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
I would say these were ok..... when you put the dough in the fridge they got hard as a rock, so I would skip that. They were just ok cookies I thought. Next time I think I will just add cocoa to my sugar cookie recipe like I normally do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake the perfect chocolate chip cookie.

Absolutely the Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Try these addictive cookies, featuring milk-chocolate chips. Mmm.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States