Best Ever Chocolate Cutout Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
Very good, they almost taste like brownies when cut thicker, which I did...more like 1/6-1/4 inch. I did add an extra egg, some vanilla, and some cinnamon. Won't do the cinnamon again, but the egg and vanilla add to it. Definitely frost them, the cocoa is almost too rich and dark without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TORANORANEKO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Concord, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
These cookies were very good. They came out a little flat when they were cooked. The only reason I gave them 4/5 stars. I followed the directions. No changes. And rolled out the dough. They spread quite a bit, which was fine, but a little flat. They did crisp on the edges and they were soft in the center.. perfect consistency. Even so much they fell apart because they were thin, but tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cavoe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
I thought this cookie was a nice change! I did add a splash of vanilla though. My girls had a great time decorating these for Halloween! I followed the suggestion of rolling the dough out between wax paper. I also put the dough and wax paper in the fridge for a few minutes after we used cookie cutters to firm back up enough so they wouldnt break when trying to transfer them to the cookie sheet. Worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RnRMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
First off, 375 is way too hot to bake these cookies. I used a 350 oven for 10-12 minutes. I did roll out thicker and reduced the cinnamon by half. The dough was a sticky mess for me to work with. I had to put the whole cookie sheet in the freezer to let the scraps firm up before I could remove it from around the cut out cookie. Good flavor but I don't think it is sweet enough for kids. The next day these were too soft for me, so I did not even waste the time decorating with icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
Excellect cookie... rave reviews every year from my son's class! This is a keeper! A little tricky sometimes when transfering from the baking sheet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2009
The cookies were great with the extra egg yolk, but for some odd reason, they smoked a lot... My oven was spewing out tons of smoke even though I had the cookies in there for only 7 minutes at 375 degrees... I know I don't have a problem with my oven because I just baked a cheesecake the day before and it was fine...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
I made this as directed, but added butter flavoring. Things got busy, so the dough was in the fridge over the weekend. warmed up on the counter, rolled out with wax paper (no flour or powdered sugar). baked 8 min. at 350, nice and soft with good chocolate flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
My husband didn't like these at all, my best friend said that they were just okay. Won't be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
Make Mine Mexican Chocolate! My favorite version combines many of tips provided by others- subs. 1/4C butter for shortening; add in one egg yolk & 1 tsp vanilla to wet ingredients; added 3/4 tsp cinnamon and a dash of red pepper to the dry ingredients. Found that I needed to chill the dough- in fact found it rolled out better when not chilled. When rolling, used 1 part cocoa powder and 2 parts flour- rolls great and doesn't dusty up the finished cookies or leave a film like straight cocoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
I made heart cut-outs for my 5th grade son's class Valentine's Day party. Dough was easy to work with and cookies were a hit! I rolled my dough out between two layers of parchment and baked the cut-out shapes right on the parchment--works great, doesn't add extra flour to the dough and no flour mess to clean up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 207) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Absolutely the Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Try these addictive cookies, featuring milk-chocolate chips. Mmm.

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake the perfect chocolate chip cookie.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States