Best Ever Chocolate Cutout Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
I love this dough. I've never been lucky with cut-out cookies, and I was able to get sharp looking little bats for Halloween. I chill the dough overnight so that it's nice and cold to work with. The dough is really chocolatey, but not too sweet. I agree that if serving the cookies at a party, it's probably best to roll in cocoa powder instead of flour. I'll be making this dough from now until Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA
Living In: Rio Grande, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
The batter never worked for me. I tried it by the letter, and it was just too sticky to roll, even after being in the fridge for 4 hours. I then tried it again with some of the suggestions in the comments, and still too sticky/mushy to turn into cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
Very good, they almost taste like brownies when cut thicker, which I did...more like 1/6-1/4 inch. I did add an extra egg, some vanilla, and some cinnamon. Won't do the cinnamon again, but the egg and vanilla add to it. Definitely frost them, the cocoa is almost too rich and dark without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TORANORANEKO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Concord, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
These cookies were very good. They came out a little flat when they were cooked. The only reason I gave them 4/5 stars. I followed the directions. No changes. And rolled out the dough. They spread quite a bit, which was fine, but a little flat. They did crisp on the edges and they were soft in the center.. perfect consistency. Even so much they fell apart because they were thin, but tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cavoe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
I thought this cookie was a nice change! I did add a splash of vanilla though. My girls had a great time decorating these for Halloween! I followed the suggestion of rolling the dough out between wax paper. I also put the dough and wax paper in the fridge for a few minutes after we used cookie cutters to firm back up enough so they wouldnt break when trying to transfer them to the cookie sheet. Worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RnRMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
First off, 375 is way too hot to bake these cookies. I used a 350 oven for 10-12 minutes. I did roll out thicker and reduced the cinnamon by half. The dough was a sticky mess for me to work with. I had to put the whole cookie sheet in the freezer to let the scraps firm up before I could remove it from around the cut out cookie. Good flavor but I don't think it is sweet enough for kids. The next day these were too soft for me, so I did not even waste the time decorating with icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
Excellect cookie... rave reviews every year from my son's class! This is a keeper! A little tricky sometimes when transfering from the baking sheet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2009
The cookies were great with the extra egg yolk, but for some odd reason, they smoked a lot... My oven was spewing out tons of smoke even though I had the cookies in there for only 7 minutes at 375 degrees... I know I don't have a problem with my oven because I just baked a cheesecake the day before and it was fine...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
I made this as directed, but added butter flavoring. Things got busy, so the dough was in the fridge over the weekend. warmed up on the counter, rolled out with wax paper (no flour or powdered sugar). baked 8 min. at 350, nice and soft with good chocolate flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
My husband didn't like these at all, my best friend said that they were just okay. Won't be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

Displaying results 111-120 (of 209) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Absolutely the Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Try these addictive cookies, featuring milk-chocolate chips. Mmm.

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake the perfect chocolate chip cookie.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States