Best Ever Chocolate Cutout Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
These really are best ever. I substituted with gluten free flour and they still worked out amazing, they dough didn't spread and they maintained difficult shapes. SO GOOD.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meganeloise

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
I have made these several times now and each time have been asked for the recipe. They are very chocolatety and delicious! My tips: don't make them too thin or they get overdone easy. Also, when making the cutouts, instead of using flour on your work surface, use cocoa powder. Your cookies will look even and chocolatey instead of having flour residue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
Wow. I don't know what happened. We followed the recipe exactly, yet the dough was too soft (even after putting it in the fridge). They acted weirdly in the oven, bubbling like they had too much baking powder in them. Then half of them just collapsed, while still in the oven, and ended up thinner than they'd been rolled out, and burnt. The taste was not very good, either. We won't be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fluffernutter
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
Love these cookies! My daughter does not like sugar cookies so we make these every year at Christmas time and make a minty frosting for them. The dough is easy to work with and they come out great. I love the fact that they are chocolaty and not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
These were the best cookies I'd made in a long time! I following some of the suggestions given by other reviewers. Just perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
I would not recommend this dough for cutout cookies because it was way too sticky! None of the shapes held their form. On the other hand, the cookies tasted delicious!! I would just recommend making the cookies into circles. I also added 1 tsp of vanilla to the recipe and that turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
Nice and chocolatey, but a bit too crunchy for my family's preference. I tried less time in the oven and then they just kind of crumbled. I might make again in the future, or else just make regular chocolate cookies instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
I love this dough. I've never been lucky with cut-out cookies, and I was able to get sharp looking little bats for Halloween. I chill the dough overnight so that it's nice and cold to work with. The dough is really chocolatey, but not too sweet. I agree that if serving the cookies at a party, it's probably best to roll in cocoa powder instead of flour. I'll be making this dough from now until Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA
Living In: Rio Grande, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
The batter never worked for me. I tried it by the letter, and it was just too sticky to roll, even after being in the fridge for 4 hours. I then tried it again with some of the suggestions in the comments, and still too sticky/mushy to turn into cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
Very good, they almost taste like brownies when cut thicker, which I did...more like 1/6-1/4 inch. I did add an extra egg, some vanilla, and some cinnamon. Won't do the cinnamon again, but the egg and vanilla add to it. Definitely frost them, the cocoa is almost too rich and dark without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TORANORANEKO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Concord, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake the perfect chocolate chip cookie.

Absolutely the Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Try these addictive cookies, featuring milk-chocolate chips. Mmm.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States