Best Ever Chocolate Cutout Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
These are wonderful! Just what I was looking for. I didn't think the dough was overly sticky at all. I didn't even need to refrigerate it before rolling out. I did roll it between wax paper which made the rolling very easy. I also cut them thick 'cause that's how I like my sugar cookies. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
I like these better than traditional sugar cookies. These are not overly sweet, and they taste like thin, chewy brownies. The dough is very sticky and does not spread much. I rolled my dough while still chilled then I refrigerated my cut outs for ~15 minutes. Very, very good for cut-out cookies. Next time I might try Hershey's special dark cocoa to get a darker color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
I loved this recipe. It almost taste like a brownie. I am starting to make cookies for special events with royal icing decorations and this recipe was a nice change from the classic sugar cookie. Not sure why some people were saying the dough was sticky, I let mine chill for 3 hours and it was PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
I make these a lot and love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alyson_a

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
This recipe is awesome. It is not at all sticky like many others I have tried. The trick to cookies is not to overdo the butter and sugar. Just cream until it looks smooth and the sugar is evenly distributed. Then lightly beat the eggs and add them all at once and mix in completely. Unlike cake you don't want light and fluffy here. I didn't use flour or cocoa to roll them out, but I did do it right after mixing (onto my baking parchment). Then I put it in the fridge while the oven was heating up. Also let your oven heat AT the temperature for a full 1/2 hour before putting your cookies in. These are my husband's new favourite. He is a self-styled chocolate connoiseur. And I am sure my clients will love them as cookie lid to their cake "boxes".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cakesibake

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
I did not care for these - salty and crumbly. definitely would not use again. if you like the somewhat brownie taste, i would suggest making a regular brownie cookie (much better and easier), and cutting them into shapes when they are still warm out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Judy7905
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
I followed this recipe to a T and it worked out very well. 4 stars because I would like to add more cocoa next time. I used parchment paper to bake and to roll out with great success. I rolled rather thickly (for me, anyway)...at least 1/8" and the recipe yielded 24 3-1/2" hearts. Not much spreading at all. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy7905

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
Wow these are awesome! What a chocolate taste!! They got rave reviews everywhere I took them. My only recommendation refrigerate the dough about 2hrs let stand for about 15 min on counter - put flour on counter and saran wrap on top of dough to roll out- its so much easier to roll using saran wrap. These are amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chelsea
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
Great cookies! For everyone complaining of crumbly cookies, you have to be smarter than the dough. I refrigerated mine overnight, and let it sit about 10 minutes before rolling it out. I like to roll out dough on a mat or on parchment paper or plastic wrap taped to the counter. It works wonders. Don't bake the cookies more than about 8 minutes, or they will dry out. I made a batch of these as Valentine gifts, and decorated them with royal icing. SO beautiful and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
Awesome flavour and no trouble at all with these! i took the advice of adding a little cinnamon and it worked really nicely and VERY brownie tasting (i rolled them a little thicker too). Super cute idea to use them at a football party as i did, just some white stripes and laces and they were a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becca Bombshell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 207) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Absolutely the Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Try these addictive cookies, featuring milk-chocolate chips. Mmm.

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake the perfect chocolate chip cookie.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States