Best Ever Chocolate Chip Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2004
This is GREAT recipe. I am a pastry chef and I use it all the time. The trick is to let it "set up" before you use the cookie dough (that is why some people have greasy cookies etc). Butter has different qualities when it is hot and cold. If you like crispy cookies refrigerate this dough then bake for a slighly longer time. For softer cookies mix dough then let it harden up at room temp. Bake only until edges are set. Finally measure brown sugar accurately--a little over and you will have FLAT cookies! Hope this helps! Thanks Allison for sharing:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
218 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2000
As soon as I saw the brown sugar/butter mixture, I knew this would be a fabulous recipe. I am a culinary student in Baltimore, MD, and I am always looking for new recipes. I am a baking major, so I am especially fond of cookies, pies, cakes, etc. But these cookies!!! The end batter is very uniform and not at all sticky. You can easily handle the batter with your bare hands for shaping or whatever. The end baked result is an even textured slightly 'butterscotch' flavored cookie with just the right ammount of sweetness and chewiness. The butterscotch flavor is in no way overpowering. It is just back in the background of the layers of flavor in this delectable cookie. Overall, 5 stars and a great end result. Well worth the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2001
This was a quick easy recipe for chocolate chip cookies, but I wasn't happy with the results. Most of my friends & I like the super soft type of chocolate chip cookies, but these cookies came out like floury scones instead of cookies that cooked up like little cakes instead of cookies with a high vertical measurement. Also, I could taste the 1 teaspoon of baking soda throughout the batch. The batter looked so good, I was hopeful, but I think a mix of butter & oil or butter & sourcream creates a better cookie softness. 1/2 teaspoon of baking soda is all that's needed, not a full teaspoon, since it was too much. Vanilla extract would have helped take away some of the floury taste too, but that was missing from the recipe. If you love scones, however, you may like this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2003
These cookies were great! They turned out chewy and with a great flavor. My 2 favorite ingredients in chocolate chip cookie dough (other than the chocolate) are the brown sugar and the butter (hate shortening), so looking at the recipe I knew I had to try it. I added 1 tbsp vanilla and about 1/2 tsp salt, used bittersweet chocolate chips instead of semisweet, no other changes. I thought the bittersweet chocolate went well with the brown sugar dough by complementing its sweetness. The one I used was Ghirardelli Double Chocolate chips. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2003
After reading all of the positive reviews for this recipie I gave it a try. These cookies are very good, soft and chewy as promised. They did not go flat when baked. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2002
These cookies are scrumptious! I wanted to give them as Christmas gifts but my husband and kids kept eating them. I add a teaspoon of vanilla and a half teaspoon of salt. Have also added cocoa to make chocolate chocolate chip -- yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2005
Mmm, these are so good! I was out of vanilla extract and was so pleased to find a chocolate chip recipe without it! I think my oven might be off by a few degrees, but in any case, I kept having to adjust the temperature between batches because the bottoms of the cookies would come out burnt. I finally found that 325 degrees F for 10 minutes worked best for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fairview Heights, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2005
I only had one stick of butter, so I used half margerine, but these were AWESOME. They tasted even softer and chewier the second day. Someone said they reminded them of soft batch cookies and I have to agree. These are definitely worth trying if you like a soft cookie. They came out fairly flat, but looked just like I had gotten them from a bakery. The best looking cookies I have ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2003
Truly one of the best choc. chip recipes I've tried from allrecipes. I did half the amount of brown sugar, but the flavor was truly delectable (perhaps the brown sugar, the use of butter rather than shortening, and the salt). It was right on. The consistency was slightly cakey...I'm still looking for the perfect cookie, one that's crisp on the edges and chewy inside. However, on flavor alone, I would give this five stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2003
I loved them Yummy! (more vanilla needed!!) yumm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 187) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake the perfect chocolate chip cookie.

Absolutely the Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Try these addictive cookies, featuring milk-chocolate chips. Mmm.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States