Best Ever Chocolate Chip Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2007
I love this recipe! I have made it so many times, and it is always a huge hit! I think that butter works much, much better than margerane. Also, I double the vanilla. I defanatly give this 5 stars Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aubrey.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Marcos, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2006
Pretty good.Most members of my family loved them, but the taste of margarine was a bit strong.We are used to the taste of butter, so since the texture of these cookies is great, I will make again using only butter next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
I bake cookies for our insurance business. We give a bag of cookies to every customer that comes by our office or that we visit in person. I wanted something besides the standard "Toll-House" cookie so I tried this recipe. Huge hit! I have officially change to this recipe instead. It makes a big batch, which I like because I can freeze the extras, which by the way, they freeze well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Temecula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
These were so so - a good "basic" recipe for chocolate chip cookies. A little bland, but still good. I was hoping for a softer, chewier cookie... my batch was HARD (I DON'T like hard cookies - reminds me of the "processed" packaged Keebler cookies sold at the supermarket). I think reducing the baking time to 8 min. per another reviewer's suggestion (I baked mine for 12-13 min.) would help. I used butter (unsalted) in lieu of margarine and I too felt that the dough was stiff (I had to incorporate the choc. chips by hand). Next time, I'll zap individual cookies in the microwave for a few seconds to soften them (my bf did this and it worked well). The one thing I really liked about this recipe was Jaylor's suggestion to roll the cookies into balls. By doing this, every cookie turned out even and uniform (one of the pluses of the recipe!). Try serving these with hot chocolate (which is another option for softening them, when dunked). Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
Love these cookies! I halved the recipe because I didn't have a bigger bowl. Used butter instead of margarine. I think this improves the taste. Instead of 1 1/2 cup of butter, I used 1 cup. I also reduced the sugars to 1 cup each. Cookies bake soft at 15 minutes in the oven. If you prefer crunchy cookies, try baking them for 17-18 mins. Excellent taste either way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LuVeLLe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2004
I absoultley LOVE these cookies. Im only sixteen and whenever family comes over for christmas or thanksgiving, there like Alyson where are your cookies? or they will call and ask me to make them, my whole family LOVES THEM. Thanks sooo much, I put extra Vanilla in, it makes it taste bettter, Thanks soooo much Jaylor :) x0x -ALYSON
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williams Lake, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
OK I am finally going to say to the world that THIS IS THE BEST RECIPE EVER!! I have used this for 2 years now. I have never failed! It is no fail. I've made these with both margarine and butter. I perfer butter(salted). I also double and alittle more on the vanilla. I only use real vanilla not imatation! Yuck! Everyone loves my cookies and I have won 2 bake-offs. (With co-workers.) I am super excited to share my thoughts on this recipe as I LOVE IT!! I only cook these for 9-12 minutes depending on my oven. Also if your cookies are coming out flat, the dough is in need of refridgeration!! Just chill it for about 10-15 minutes, I just keep it in the fridge. Also I have been know to double or triple my CHOCOLATE CHIPS too!! I hope you love this as much as I do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2stylin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2004
I have been making these cookies for several years and always get rave reviews!!! They are delicious!!! The recipes does yield a lot, but I have never had a problem getting rid of them!! I have always made them exactly like the recipe, for a softer cookie reduce the cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
Mmmmmm! They turned out with an absolutely perfect texture. Very soft, just the way we like them. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2006
These are excellent! Crispy on the outside and soft in the middle. I did use butter instead of margarine, and in one batch we did 1/2 chocolate chips, and 1/2 white chocolate chips. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELSY
Home Town: Niles, Illinois, USA
Living In: Wauconda, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Absolutely the Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Try these addictive cookies, featuring milk-chocolate chips. Mmm.

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake the perfect chocolate chip cookie.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States