Best Ever Chicken Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 10, 2006
This was easy and delicious! Two of my three kids even liked it. The only reason the third didn't care for it was because of the water chestnuts (which I love)so I guess you could leave them out or substitute something else. Several people suggested reducing the amount of mayonnaise but I thought the tangy mayonnaise and sweet onion made a great flavor combination. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lesa Lee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moore, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2006
Absolutely LOVED this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2006
This was pretty good, but the onion was a bit overpowering. Next time I will try using a milder onion like vidalia.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2006
This came out really bland for me and actually made me a little sick to my stomach. Definitely not one that me or my husband will be trying again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Wolf Smith

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2006
My wife and son were "okay" with this dish, but there are other chicken casseroles that they would choose. I think it was just a bit too much of the mayonnaise; it kind of overpowered the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chillicothe, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2006
I made this once and made allot of changes based on others suggestions. This time the only changes I made was I added 1/2 cup sour cream, 1/2 cup shreaded cheddar cheese and one small can chopped green chili's drained. Served it over noodles. YUM YUM YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookfield, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Hazelwood, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2006
quick. easy. good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Regan Libby

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2006
I think the best thing about this recipe is that it's a solid, re-workable one. Not being a huge fan of mayonnaise, I only used 2 tbsp of it, and mixed that with 4 tbsp of lite sour cream. I sauteed my onion in olive oil, and added in one teaspoon of dried basil, black pepper to taste, and a crushed clove of garlic. By precooking my onion and reducing the mayonnaise, I cut the cooking time down to 25 minutes. I used fat-free cream of chicken soup, and I think just about any cream based soup would work well with this dish. I didn't have water chestnuts, which I love, so I used mushrooms instead. No crunch, but lots of flavor. Finally, I didn't have corn-flakes, so I used cornbread stuffing mix, which was a delicious replacement. I DO love a recipe that can successfully be altered to suit my own taste. Everyone in my family loved this, even the kids (though they picked around the mushrooms). I will make this again and again. The only reason I gave it 4 stars is because I changed the recipe so much, but again, I think the flexibility is one of the recipe's best qualities.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sneedville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
I did several things differently, 1.) I boiled the chicken with onions, celery and a boullion cube for extra flavor, 2.) I put a layer of egg noodles on the bottom of a pan before I put the chicken mixture on top of it, and 3.) I put some Swiss cheese slices on top of the chicken mixture before I sprinkled the remaining corn flakes on top. It turned out so excellent; my whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HermionePlease

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2006
My husband loved this! I did add less mayo (3 TBSP) and used celery. I also used only 1/2 cup onion. I cooked for only 45 minutes and it was perfect- not soupy at all. I highly recommend this SIMPLE recipe. Even I could do it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 243) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Delicious Chicken Casserole

Turn chicken, soup, and sour cream into a crowd-pleasing casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States