Best Ever Chicken Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
Tasted good with my substitutions. I didn't read the reviews until after. But I didn't have everything listed. I used a Can of mushrooms since I didn't have water chesnuts. I used Cream of Mushroom since I didn't have Cream of Chicken. I alos used minced onion (2T.) since i didnt have an onion. I used a full cup in the recipe and a cup for the top. And I topped it with butter slices. It's yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Healthy Witness

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomington, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
I made all the changes suggested in the reviews: added celery and chopped carrots; left out the water chestnuts; substituted 1c. mayo with 1/2c. mayo and 1/2c. sour cream (with approx. 2 tblsp. milk); used crushed potato chips instead of corn flakes. Turned out fabulous!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
Excellent recipe~~5 stars!! I made this for family members and everyone asked for the recipe. After reading some reviews, I did use Cream of Mushroom Soup with Roasted Garlic. I used half sour cream and half Light Miracle Whip instead of mayo because that is what I had on hand. I sauteed the onions because some of my family members don't care for "crunchy" onions. I added extra water chestnuts~~I just diced them quite small. I also added at least a cup of shredded cheddar cheese and more corn flakes. I baked the dish for just 35 minutes or so covered in a preheated oven ~~ after 35 minutes it was bubbling and browned. I served it over wide egg noodles with some peas and corn on the side and also served a crusty bread ~~ this dish was soooooo good! My husband said if it was on a restaurant menu he would order it. It was not dry, not runny, not bland~~it was perfect and tasted delicious. There were no leftovers and we had picky eaters present. Next time for convenience, I think I will add more soup and just mix in some cooked egg noodles and vegetables before I bake it rather than serve these things separately. Thanks, Mary, for a great recipe! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
I made this exactly as the recipe said and I was not impressed. It was way too bland and I don't think I'll try it again. Sorry, but I guess our taste buds want a bit more than this offered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deep Creek Diva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
Creamy, comfort food. Will be good for the winter months. Other reviewers are right - add a crust and some veggies and you will have a fantastic pot pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ldsjackson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tyler, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
This was good, easy to make and change ingredients based on what you have on hand. I used a can of cream of chicken and mushroom soup, a can of cream of chicken soup, half an onion, and through in some cheese, frozen peas and corn, and like another reviewer said, just cooked my chicken in a pan with some olive oil, salt, pepper and garlic powder. I also through in a little splash of worcestershire sauce and some dried oregano with the chicken while cooking it. I would make it again, but I think I might try to make a "crust" like you find in a pot pie. That really is what the flavor reminded me of, but without the crust that is so good in pot pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worland, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Hilliard, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
Pretty good! I substituted 1 C fresh carrots and celery for the water chestnuts and added some cheese. Thought the onion was a bit much, and I also recommend using a smaller pan than 9x13 for the given recipe that serves 4 to make the casserole a bit thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hosmer, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Huron, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
Overall the recipe was very good. I chose to boil the chicken in chiken broth instead of water for extra flavor. I also used mixed vegetables and pre-cooked them before adding them to the mix. Any cream based soup works just as well (if not better) than mayonaise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
I work in a retirement facility as a chef, thought I would try it out on them to see if it was good. They loved it!! Actually I am eating it right now, GOOD STUFF!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Living In: Odessa, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
This is GREAT!! Very easy to prepare. My husband and I both agreed that it tasted better as a "left over".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 243) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Delicious Chicken Casserole

Turn chicken, soup, and sour cream into a crowd-pleasing casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States