Best Ever Chicken Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
Tasted good with my substitutions. I didn't read the reviews until after. But I didn't have everything listed. I used a Can of mushrooms since I didn't have water chesnuts. I used Cream of Mushroom since I didn't have Cream of Chicken. I alos used minced onion (2T.) since i didnt have an onion. I used a full cup in the recipe and a cup for the top. And I topped it with butter slices. It's yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomington, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
I made all the changes suggested in the reviews: added celery and chopped carrots; left out the water chestnuts; substituted 1c. mayo with 1/2c. mayo and 1/2c. sour cream (with approx. 2 tblsp. milk); used crushed potato chips instead of corn flakes. Turned out fabulous!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
Excellent recipe~~5 stars!! I made this for family members and everyone asked for the recipe. After reading some reviews, I did use Cream of Mushroom Soup with Roasted Garlic. I used half sour cream and half Light Miracle Whip instead of mayo because that is what I had on hand. I sauteed the onions because some of my family members don't care for "crunchy" onions. I added extra water chestnuts~~I just diced them quite small. I also added at least a cup of shredded cheddar cheese and more corn flakes. I baked the dish for just 35 minutes or so covered in a preheated oven ~~ after 35 minutes it was bubbling and browned. I served it over wide egg noodles with some peas and corn on the side and also served a crusty bread ~~ this dish was soooooo good! My husband said if it was on a restaurant menu he would order it. It was not dry, not runny, not bland~~it was perfect and tasted delicious. There were no leftovers and we had picky eaters present. Next time for convenience, I think I will add more soup and just mix in some cooked egg noodles and vegetables before I bake it rather than serve these things separately. Thanks, Mary, for a great recipe! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
I made this exactly as the recipe said and I was not impressed. It was way too bland and I don't think I'll try it again. Sorry, but I guess our taste buds want a bit more than this offered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deep Creek Diva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
Creamy, comfort food. Will be good for the winter months. Other reviewers are right - add a crust and some veggies and you will have a fantastic pot pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ldsjackson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tyler, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
This was good, easy to make and change ingredients based on what you have on hand. I used a can of cream of chicken and mushroom soup, a can of cream of chicken soup, half an onion, and through in some cheese, frozen peas and corn, and like another reviewer said, just cooked my chicken in a pan with some olive oil, salt, pepper and garlic powder. I also through in a little splash of worcestershire sauce and some dried oregano with the chicken while cooking it. I would make it again, but I think I might try to make a "crust" like you find in a pot pie. That really is what the flavor reminded me of, but without the crust that is so good in pot pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worland, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Hilliard, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
Pretty good! I substituted 1 C fresh carrots and celery for the water chestnuts and added some cheese. Thought the onion was a bit much, and I also recommend using a smaller pan than 9x13 for the given recipe that serves 4 to make the casserole a bit thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hosmer, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Huron, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
Overall the recipe was very good. I chose to boil the chicken in chiken broth instead of water for extra flavor. I also used mixed vegetables and pre-cooked them before adding them to the mix. Any cream based soup works just as well (if not better) than mayonaise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
I work in a retirement facility as a chef, thought I would try it out on them to see if it was good. They loved it!! Actually I am eating it right now, GOOD STUFF!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Living In: Odessa, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
This is GREAT!! Very easy to prepare. My husband and I both agreed that it tasted better as a "left over".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 243) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Delicious Chicken Casserole

Turn chicken, soup, and sour cream into a crowd-pleasing casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States