Best Ever Chicken Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2002
This is an awesome and easy casserole!! Made a few changes, which made it go farther (big eating family). Based on the complaint that there was too much mayo, rather than reduce that ingrediant, I added apprx 6-8oz cooked macaroni noodles and increased the cornflakes to 1 1/2 cups (1 cup into the mix and 1/2 cup for the topping). I also added 1/2 cup diced celery, 1 4oz jar diced pimentos for color and spinkled in some shredded cheddar cheese over all. All else was left the same. Not dry, perfect amt of "creamy" and very tasty and filling. Thanks for the new casserole idea Mary!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
147 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2003
I made the following changes to the recipe and it definitely tasted better: - add 3 or 4 heads of broccoli (chopped) - add 6 or 7 stalks of celery (chopped) - add about 18 mini carrots (chopped) - only 3\4 cup of fat free mayo (less oily) I think in retrospect I would have chopped up the water chestnuts into eighths, not fourths. Their unique texture seemed to be a bit of a distraction and you keep thinking "what was that I just bit into?" You may just want to leave them out completely because in my opinion they don't add all that much to the overall taste. I put only a thin layer of corn flakes on top, but I would have liked it to be even more crunchy. You might also consider cooking the vegetables before adding them to the mix (though I only cooked the mix for 45 minutes, so another 15 might have softened them up a bit more). Overall quite tasty, but obviously the more things you add to it, the longer it takes to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2003
This recipe was a hit with my me and my husband. There were barely any leftovers! I did read through the reviews before preparing this recipe, and decided to cut the mayonnaise to 1/2 cup, and added 1/2 cup of sour cream. I added some red pepper flakes, half of a minced jalepeno, 1/2 cup of cheddar cheese, 1/2 cup of monterry jack cheese, some fresh ground pepper, some garlic salt, and used cream of mushroom soup instead of chicken soup. I served the casserole with a ceasar salad and bread. My husband barely left me any for lunch the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2006
I made this once and made allot of changes based on others suggestions. This time the only changes I made was I added 1/2 cup sour cream, 1/2 cup shreaded cheddar cheese and one small can chopped green chili's drained. Served it over noodles. YUM YUM YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookfield, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Hazelwood, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2002
Substituted Cream of Mushroom with roasted garlic and added about 3/4 cup shredded cheddar cheese and it was superb! Served it at a party and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2002
This was delicious! A few changes I made: Used low-fat mayonnaise, added chopped celery, chopped carrots, and about 1/2 cup of shredded swiss cheese, which gave it a wonderful flavor. My husband loved it and so did my picky toddler - There were no leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2002
The ingredients sound weird , but it really works out to be sooo yummy! The water chesnuts are the best part and I always add extra. I add extra corn flakes too on top to make it extra crunchy. I do cut back alittle on the mayo to make it less greasy. this is a winner!!! Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2003
There was none left and we have picky eaters in our group.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2003
I found this recipe good, but I wasn't blown away. I am still undecided about the water chestnuts (which I chose to chop before putting them in). They were a bit too crunchy for me. I would have preferred celery for a bit of crunch. But then again, my kids (6 and 4) hate seeing anything green in their food and so they liked it better this way. Also, I wasn't sure if I was supposed to drain the chestnuts. I did, but then added in some of the liquid so the mix wasn't so dry. I liked the cornflake crumbs in the mix. It gave it a nice texture. For the topping I did what I always do and mixed the crumbs with some melted margarine or butter. This way the topping bakes and isn't just dry on top. I left the lid on and just pulled it off near the end to brown the topping a bit, but really I think I could have left it on for the entire cooking time. Overall I found the recipe wonderfully easy to make and would rate it a bit above good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2002
Overall the recipe was good, I would make it again. I used cracker crumbs, and only used about 1/4 cup maynoise and added a little sour cream too. I also put french fried onions on top as topping which was great. The crunch of the water chestnuts were good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 243) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States