Best Ever Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 27, 2000
It truly is "the best" I've ever made. I made one for Easter dinner this year and everyone raved about it. They enjoyed the shortbread crust and the rich flavor of the cheesecake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
As close as I've found to a New York style cheesecake. Excellent texture and flavor. Not overly sweet like some less authentic cheesecakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2004
The cheesecake was very good. I lost my recipe, so I am looking for one to replace it and I think I have found it in this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2000
Great idea with the crust bottom. My family really enjoyed this one. The cheese cake was nice and creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by elinor3
Reviewed: May 29, 2009
This recipe was the best cheesecake I've ever made! I dressed it up by adding shaved chocolate and sliced strawberries along the outer edge. I'm throwing my old cheesecake recipe out!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elinor3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grove, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
I found this recipe several years ago and have made it many times. I have searched since childhood to find a cheesecake recipe that remotely resembled the one my grandma used to make and this one is nearly dead on. I absolutely love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2001
Frankly, this cheesecake is exquisite! I'm one of those cheesecake buffs, who will bake and bake until I find the one that suits my palate, and this recipe steals the show. Birdlady,(previous comment), try the recipe again, you'll surprise yourself. I tip my hat off to you Cathy, well done! Aloha!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Puka SaintJohn

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2002
This was the best cheesecake I have ever had. It was easy to make, had easy ingredients, and came out wonderful. It was light, creamy, and just sweet enough. Everyone loved it and I plan to make 2 for Christmas! Try this cake...you will not be sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
I have made this cheesecake several times and it is amazing. However, I do agree with doubling the filling part. I just made it again after a few years and forgot to double it so only have a 1.5 inch high cake, however it still tastes great. I swirl in dulce de leche with a skewer about half way through the cooking process & it is SO good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Hayles

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
I made this cheesecake for Thanksgiving. I always make a shortbread crust, as I prefer it to a graham crust. I would give this five stars if it had more filling. Next time I will double the filling so I have a higher cheesecake. Mine was only about an inch thick in a 10 inch pan. That being said, it was lucious. Not too sweet, and with the dense cheesecake texture that I enjoy. I do not like the cheesecake style that uses sour cream. It was very lemony, but fresh and nice, not like an artificial extract flavor. I didn't measure the lemon zest, I just used the zest from one whole lemon, so it could have been more than a teaspoon. My dad especially enjoyed it, as he prefers less sweet desserts. It reminded him of a German style cheesecake. And I also liked the baking method, although I couldn't resist adding a pan of water to the oven. This is the first cheesecake I've ever made that hasn't cracked on top. It was really beautiful. Double the filling, and it gets five starts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Best No-Bake Cheesecake

See how to make a quick-and-easy cheesecake.

Brownie Cupcake: The 2nd Best Cupcake Ever

See how to make a vanilla cupcake with a secret surprise inside.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States