Best Ever Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
I have made this cheesecake several times and it is amazing. However, I do agree with doubling the filling part. I just made it again after a few years and forgot to double it so only have a 1.5 inch high cake, however it still tastes great. I swirl in dulce de leche with a skewer about half way through the cooking process & it is SO good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Hayles

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
I found this recipe several years ago and have made it many times. I have searched since childhood to find a cheesecake recipe that remotely resembled the one my grandma used to make and this one is nearly dead on. I absolutely love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
I made this cheesecake for Thanksgiving. I always make a shortbread crust, as I prefer it to a graham crust. I would give this five stars if it had more filling. Next time I will double the filling so I have a higher cheesecake. Mine was only about an inch thick in a 10 inch pan. That being said, it was lucious. Not too sweet, and with the dense cheesecake texture that I enjoy. I do not like the cheesecake style that uses sour cream. It was very lemony, but fresh and nice, not like an artificial extract flavor. I didn't measure the lemon zest, I just used the zest from one whole lemon, so it could have been more than a teaspoon. My dad especially enjoyed it, as he prefers less sweet desserts. It reminded him of a German style cheesecake. And I also liked the baking method, although I couldn't resist adding a pan of water to the oven. This is the first cheesecake I've ever made that hasn't cracked on top. It was really beautiful. Double the filling, and it gets five starts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
As close as I've found to a New York style cheesecake. Excellent texture and flavor. Not overly sweet like some less authentic cheesecakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by elinor3
Reviewed: May 29, 2009
This recipe was the best cheesecake I've ever made! I dressed it up by adding shaved chocolate and sliced strawberries along the outer edge. I'm throwing my old cheesecake recipe out!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elinor3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grove, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
perhaps I didn't do it right, but nothing about this cake was good (except the crust, which was yummy). the cake itself was VERY lemony, and the texture was just not right. I kept checking to make sure I was doing everything correctly and it LOOKED okay, but I was not pleased with the taste.(my husband liked it though).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia York

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
This might be wonderful if you want a cakey cheese cake. It was too heavy for me and didn't have enough flavor. I believe that the taste did not warrant the expense of all the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hornell, New York, USA
Living In: Pittsford, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2005
Me and my family really enjoyed this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2004
The cheesecake was very good. I lost my recipe, so I am looking for one to replace it and I think I have found it in this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2004
This was the first time I made any cake in a springform pan. This cheesecake had a nice smooth flavor but it was not the best I have ever had. I did love the shortdough crust better than the graham crust though. I shared it with a friend he said "The crust was off the hook! but the cheesecake was just alright"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best No-Bake Cheesecake

See how to make a quick-and-easy cheesecake.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Brownie Cupcake: The 2nd Best Cupcake Ever

See how to make a vanilla cupcake with a secret surprise inside.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States