Best Ever Caramel Apple Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
I am giving this a five star rating just because it tastes so wonderful!! But there are some serious adjustments needed to make it come out. First of all there is NO WAY this recipe will fit into an 8x8 pan. Must go into a 9x13 pan. Second I took some other peoples advice and put the caramel on top of the apples, not on top of the crumb topping, would recommend doing that! On the bag of caramels I used it had a recipe for caramel apples, which said to add 4 tablespoons of regular milk to each 48 caramels so I did that rather than open a whole can of evap. milk and waste what I didn't use, and it was just fine. With a few changes, will definitely make this recipe again. YUM!YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
352 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aberdeen, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
As the name implies it IS the best ever. I have a few suggestions for everyone. use a ziploc bag. make the filling, peel and cut the apples then add the apples to the ziploc bag pour in the filling and let marinate while you finish with the rest of the recipe. apples and sauce can even be made the night before and refrigerated. dont forget to double the lemon juice and cinnamon for the sauce. Instead of using flour use vanilla pudding, one box is a half cup. homemade caramel is the best and easiest way to go, medium high heat in a large saucepan stick of butter, cup of sugar and 1.25 cups of heavy cream added slowly and after the sugar turns a nice golden brown. you will have some left over that can be put in a jar and used on ice cream or French toast, mmmm. half the crumble recipe and add a dash of cinnamon. instead of water for the sauce use another liquid i.e. brandy, heavy cream, cider. the last 10 - 15 minutes of bake time sprinkle 1/4 - 1/2 cup finely chopped pecans to the top, its adds a great crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
236 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nicademusx

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
This recipe is delicious and I will definitely make it again, only with a couple of tweaks. One, the pan needs to be larger and should be sprayed with pam or greased first, second the caramel definitely needs to go on top of the apple mixture before the crumb topping. I used caramal syrup, the kind you would put on ice cream, and just warmed it in the microwave (lid off) to warm it so it would be easier to pour, it took about half a bottle. This is delicious served hot with whipped cream on top, my family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
209 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kodiak, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sweetiesmj
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
I made this today for a dessert and followed the advice of past reviewers. I used a 9x13 baking dish, doubled the cinnamon, added nutmeg and allspice. I also doubled the lemon juice, omitted the water and added Mexican vanilla. I poured pre-made caramel sauce - about a 1/4 cup - over the apples and then put the crumble mixture on. It came out great...sweet but not overpowering. The top was crispy and the apple mixture was a perfect texture (not mushy at all). The taste was spot on. I served it warm with a drizzle of caramel sauce and a scoop of vanilla ice cream. Yum! I will add this to my list of seasonal apple recipes. Thank you, St. Matthew First Graders!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetiesmj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stratford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Naugatuck, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2006
I may not make it again, but it was good. Our "large apples" must have been bigger than the author's, because we had to use a 13"x9"x2" pan. There was no "Crisp" because of the caramel (we used a tub of fat-free caramel apple dip). If I made it again, I'd add more spice (apple pie spice) to the apples and layer the caramel below the crisp. I would use the caramel apple dip again, though. Oh, and the tip to line the pan with foil to avoid a messy clean-up is a good one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
great recipe. Used some of the tips from other bakers like putting the caramel on top of the apples and i used the caramel dip found in the veggie section of the grocery store. this cut down on messy dishes. Also browned the crisp topping in the broiler for a couple of minutes and it turned out fabulous. Thanks so much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Roselle Park, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2006
This was definitely the best apple crisp I have ever made. I used more cinnamon, and a little more flour in the topping (I like it crumblier) and used store bought caramel topping cause I was low on time. It was absolutely delicious. I am 5 mos. pregnant right now, so I probable could've eaten the whole thing. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2006
I am giving this recipe only two stars as it is a disaster to clean up! It was tasty and everyone liked the flavor of the caramels, but the mess it made in my pan, took hours of soaking in boiling water and scrubbing! I strongly recommend that if you are going to try this, line your pan with HEAVY foil and then grease the foil, before putting the apples mixture in the pan. I will not make this again,think I will stick with my regular recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa Ruzycki

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milton, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Yorkton, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
This was a wonderful dish. Based on other reviews and our own tastes, I upped the amount of cinnamon and added a dash of nutmeg and allspice, used the pre-made light caramel apple dip instead of melting candies and put the crumb topping on last. Very sweet but excellent as a fall dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Crofton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2006
This is apple crisp recipe is absolutely delicious. My talented sister-in-law Mary created it along with the first grade students at St. Matthew School in Seattle, WA. Kids love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esmee Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Apple Crisp Ever

Tart apples go perfectly with the sweet, crunchy topping.

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States