Best Ever Caramel Apple Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
Great dessert. I made a couple changes, 1st, after baking I spread butter and marzetti carmel dip on top and broiled till crunchy and then realized I had no whip cream. I made some instant french vanilla pudding YUM that put it right over the top. Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
My husband...my husband...who doesn't like dessert in general, who first turned his nose up at this and said. "Oh, uhhh...I'll try it a little later." Uh huh, sure...I thought. Well, he finally he brought some over to the couch, with a little vanilla ice cream on it, and slowly began to eat. He didn't say a word til he was finished, so I thought at best I would get an. "It was ok." But low and behold. He looked down at it and said. "Sally! This is really, REALLY good!" I nearly fell over. So there ya go. The only thing I changed is that I added 1 tbs of melted butter to the apples, and used caramel sheets (the kind you wrap apples in, they worked great). Happy Baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VALENZANO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petaluma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
This was an incredible treat - the most wonderful combination of apple pie and caramel apples!! Talk about a brilliant fall dessert! I shared this with several people, my neighbors included, and the consensus was that it would have been PERFECT over vanilla ice cream (we didn't have any), especially fresh out of the oven, in the same way that apple pie and vanilla ice cream go together, only better because this has the caramel sauce built right in. Per other comments, I also put the caramel on the apples rather than on the crumb topping, and this left the topping nice and crispy, while the apples and caramel sauce created a GREAT sauce that, again, would have really lent this dessert well to being served next to a scoop of ice cream. Also per a few comments, I went ahead and sprayed the pan with non-stick spray, then lined it with foil. Cleanup was super easy - two seconds in teh sink and the pan was clean because nothing stuck at all. I dread thinking about what it would have been like trying to clean up dried-on, hardened caramel sauce!! One last thought - I made the mistake of making this on a weeknight, and it was honestly too much work - I'm going to save this for family get-togethers or holidays or something like that. Thanks so much for posting this dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ericka Hiatt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Menlo Park, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
This was amazingly yummy! I didn't have time to unwrap a million little caramels so I just bought a fancy, high quality bottle of caramel sauce. My family ate this one up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYKIDSMOM5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Morgan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
I agree that this is absolutely the best ever apple crisp. I used Cortland apples and it turned out perfectly. Granny Smiths also work quite well. Thanks for sharing this one! It was a real hit with my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
Delish! Took previous reviewers advice and used caramel dipping sauce to cut down on prep time and used tart and sweet apples for variety. Served with a scoop of vanilla ice cream. A great dessert on a cold night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
I finally found my favorite Apple Crisp recipe - YUMMO! I didnt have caramels for the top so I just poured on some ice cream caramel topping that I had. I made it for only me and my husband so I cut it in half and just put it in a little bread pan. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
This is unbelievable good!!I served with ice cream and it was so good I had to have a bit more .....I also made it with more sauce and it was even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
This was soooo GREAT that after making it the first time I decided to try peaches instead. Wow! Best ever either way, Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
Man this was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tim

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Apple Crisp Ever

Tart apples go perfectly with the sweet, crunchy topping.

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States