Best Ever Caramel Apple Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
Love this one. I was making this for our football tailgate parties, and evey time I make it, everyone raves over it. This IS the go to recipe. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
My kids and their friends and the people at work all love this. The kids can't get enough. I left my son and a friend of his alone with some that I had cooked earlier that day and when I got back a half hour later, they had eaten the whole thing. BTW, I used the "Caramels" recipe on this site for the caramel. It makes quite a bit, but it's really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Titusville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Awesome apple crisp! I divided the caramel and put half over the apples and drizzled the rest over the top. also doubled the cinnamon. Used a few more apples as well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I was surprised how easy this was to make. I've never made anything like this before and it was delicous. I gave it 4 stars because I felt like something was missing. will make it again but using some of the suggestions in the other reviews. Also, you definitely need a large baking dish for this. Don't use the size recommended in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
I was a little disappointed with this recipe. I didn't read the reviews first, so I put the caramel on top like the recipe dictates. The "crisp" wasn't really very crispy as a result. The apples were very runny and there were way too many juices in the bottom of the dish. This dish was also extremely sweet. If I were to make it again, I would cut the sugar amounts in half. I think this recipe has a lot of potential, but as it is it doesn't deserve a five-star rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
Turned out delicious. I added some chopped walnuts to the topping to add an extra crunch. I used a jar of ice cream caramel topping (about half of a small one) and drizzled caramel on top of the apples and a little more on the topping before baking. Very very sweet dish...ice cream is a must. Serve when hot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
I used a jar of ice cream topping instead of the caramels. It was amazing.......took it to work and got rave reviews! Instant classic.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
I won't make this one again, too sweet for my taste. I can see why some would like it but feel there are better recipes. The caramel in this one did not add that much and like another review said, not worth the extra calories. Also too gooey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
I made a lower fat and sugar version of this and it was delicious. I used 2 Tbsp sugar in the apple mix and 1/2 Cup brown sugar and butter in the crumble. I used 1/4 cup skim milk in place of the evaporated milk. I served the caramel sauce and whipped cream on the side for those that wanted it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
This was fantastic!!! First apple crisp I've ever made. I followed suggestions and drizzled the caramel on top of the apples before adding the oat topping. I also used 9x13 pan and doubled the topping. So good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Nichols Gilbert

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Apple Crisp Ever

Tart apples go perfectly with the sweet, crunchy topping.

Oatmeal Cookie Apple Crisp

Dessert that combines apple pie filling with cookie-like topping.

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States