Best Ever Caramel Apple Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2006
This was definitely the best apple crisp I have ever made. I used more cinnamon, and a little more flour in the topping (I like it crumblier) and used store bought caramel topping cause I was low on time. It was absolutely delicious. I am 5 mos. pregnant right now, so I probable could've eaten the whole thing. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2006
This is apple crisp recipe is absolutely delicious. My talented sister-in-law Mary created it along with the first grade students at St. Matthew School in Seattle, WA. Kids love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esmee Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2006
Very simple, easy to make, and tastes wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monterey, California, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2006
I just pulled this from the Oven and Ohmygod this is WONDERFUL! I can't stand anything apple, but my husband LOVEs apple anything. I had to try a piece just because i made it, and WOW! Best recipe I've tried from here yet!! Thank you my husband will LOVE this!! Great idea guys!! OH! I had one tweak, I had to make the apple filling twice because there was not enough sugar mixture to cover the apples to make them really pop with flavor. EVERYTHING else was great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DOMINIQUE24

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Napoli, Campania, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2006
It was the easiest recipe. I have been searching for the recipe that my grandmother always made. This is the close to what she made. The best part was the carmel. I sub. sugar for Splenda and Splenda (brown sugar blend), 2 (3 oz.) bags of sugar free candy, 1/2 can of evaporated milk. 15mins left in the cooking of the crisp I drizzal the melted carmel candy mixed with evapoated milk. I put it in a 9 x 13 cake pan. Everyone loves it. It is also something that my dad can have. He is Diabetic. I serve it warm toped with vanilla ice cream. MMMMMM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2006
This recipe was amazing. I would prob. use less caramel next time, so that the top is not completely covered by caramel, so that that there will be some crisp in the apple crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
I am giving this a five star rating just because it tastes so wonderful!! But there are some serious adjustments needed to make it come out. First of all there is NO WAY this recipe will fit into an 8x8 pan. Must go into a 9x13 pan. Second I took some other peoples advice and put the caramel on top of the apples, not on top of the crumb topping, would recommend doing that! On the bag of caramels I used it had a recipe for caramel apples, which said to add 4 tablespoons of regular milk to each 48 caramels so I did that rather than open a whole can of evap. milk and waste what I didn't use, and it was just fine. With a few changes, will definitely make this recipe again. YUM!YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
353 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aberdeen, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2006
I may not make it again, but it was good. Our "large apples" must have been bigger than the author's, because we had to use a 13"x9"x2" pan. There was no "Crisp" because of the caramel (we used a tub of fat-free caramel apple dip). If I made it again, I'd add more spice (apple pie spice) to the apples and layer the caramel below the crisp. I would use the caramel apple dip again, though. Oh, and the tip to line the pan with foil to avoid a messy clean-up is a good one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
MMMmmm-very good! It was a little gooey the second time around but just as tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clinton, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
tastes great, but needs to be in a larger pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Best Apple Crisp Ever

Tart apples go perfectly with the sweet, crunchy topping.

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States