Best Ever Caramel Apple Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
very good taste. but the work makes it not worthwhile. first, there is waaaaaaaaaaay too much caramel. the crisp wasn't crispy either. use a glass pan, cleanup will be much easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
Given the amount of ingredients, I knew an 8x8-in pan would be too small. I used a glass 9x13-in pan so had no problem with cleanup. Using 10 small Granny Smith apples was insufficient, although the pan was quite full with bubbly goo. The crumble wasn't crumbly at all--more goo. All-in-all, I was surprised it wasn't as sweet as I expected. However, for the amount of ingredients, the steps involved, the gooey texture, and moderate taste, this recipe will be filed in the "Never make it again!" folder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
Can u say 10 stars people. these were sooooo soooo good. i brought them to thanksgiving dinner and grandma kept going back for more. we made one for home for after thanksgiving but the kids still got into it early. its great with vanilla icecream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lussier25

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
I made this the other day for my husband's birthday. It was a hit! There was none left! I followed the recipe exactly except I did take others advice & doubled the crisp topping because that's our favorite part. It was perfect. I'll use this recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by modestgrl

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Oswego, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
Amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dubuque, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
Four stars because it tastes good but I would make a few revisions next time. It was a little too mushy for me, the topping didn't have enough crunch and there was way too much caramel to drizzle on top of only an 8X8 pan of this. I had to save a good amount of it (not a problem since it would be great on ice-cream or for dipping apple slices). Next time I will try putting some of the caramel into the apple mixture, add walnuts, add more flour and lemon juice to the filling as other reviewers suggested and probably find another struesal recipe to top it with to see if its any better. Aside from the mushy gooey texture, it tasted pretty good though. Very sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Farmingdale, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
Great dessert. I made a couple changes, 1st, after baking I spread butter and marzetti carmel dip on top and broiled till crunchy and then realized I had no whip cream. I made some instant french vanilla pudding YUM that put it right over the top. Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
My husband...my husband...who doesn't like dessert in general, who first turned his nose up at this and said. "Oh, uhhh...I'll try it a little later." Uh huh, sure...I thought. Well, he finally he brought some over to the couch, with a little vanilla ice cream on it, and slowly began to eat. He didn't say a word til he was finished, so I thought at best I would get an. "It was ok." But low and behold. He looked down at it and said. "Sally! This is really, REALLY good!" I nearly fell over. So there ya go. The only thing I changed is that I added 1 tbs of melted butter to the apples, and used caramel sheets (the kind you wrap apples in, they worked great). Happy Baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VALENZANO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petaluma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
This was an incredible treat - the most wonderful combination of apple pie and caramel apples!! Talk about a brilliant fall dessert! I shared this with several people, my neighbors included, and the consensus was that it would have been PERFECT over vanilla ice cream (we didn't have any), especially fresh out of the oven, in the same way that apple pie and vanilla ice cream go together, only better because this has the caramel sauce built right in. Per other comments, I also put the caramel on the apples rather than on the crumb topping, and this left the topping nice and crispy, while the apples and caramel sauce created a GREAT sauce that, again, would have really lent this dessert well to being served next to a scoop of ice cream. Also per a few comments, I went ahead and sprayed the pan with non-stick spray, then lined it with foil. Cleanup was super easy - two seconds in teh sink and the pan was clean because nothing stuck at all. I dread thinking about what it would have been like trying to clean up dried-on, hardened caramel sauce!! One last thought - I made the mistake of making this on a weeknight, and it was honestly too much work - I'm going to save this for family get-togethers or holidays or something like that. Thanks so much for posting this dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TYGRWMN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Menlo Park, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
This was amazingly yummy! I didn't have time to unwrap a million little caramels so I just bought a fancy, high quality bottle of caramel sauce. My family ate this one up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYKIDSMOM5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Morgan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Apple Crisp Ever

Tart apples go perfectly with the sweet, crunchy topping.

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States