Best Ever Caramel Apple Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
I am giving this a five star rating just because it tastes so wonderful!! But there are some serious adjustments needed to make it come out. First of all there is NO WAY this recipe will fit into an 8x8 pan. Must go into a 9x13 pan. Second I took some other peoples advice and put the caramel on top of the apples, not on top of the crumb topping, would recommend doing that! On the bag of caramels I used it had a recipe for caramel apples, which said to add 4 tablespoons of regular milk to each 48 caramels so I did that rather than open a whole can of evap. milk and waste what I didn't use, and it was just fine. With a few changes, will definitely make this recipe again. YUM!YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
357 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Philip, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
tastes great, but needs to be in a larger pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2006
I may not make it again, but it was good. Our "large apples" must have been bigger than the author's, because we had to use a 13"x9"x2" pan. There was no "Crisp" because of the caramel (we used a tub of fat-free caramel apple dip). If I made it again, I'd add more spice (apple pie spice) to the apples and layer the caramel below the crisp. I would use the caramel apple dip again, though. Oh, and the tip to line the pan with foil to avoid a messy clean-up is a good one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2006
Although this was good, it was not better than my regular recipe that does not use caramel and it was also much more work. I am glad I tried it, but it's back to old recipe for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2006
Not too sweet, just perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2006
Since the "crunchy top" didn't turn out very crunchy because of the caramel on top, I would recommend to put the caramel on top of the apples and then put the crumble on top. You'll still get the caramel, but you'll also get a crunchy top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2006
This recipe was amazing. I would prob. use less caramel next time, so that the top is not completely covered by caramel, so that that there will be some crisp in the apple crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2006
I just pulled this from the Oven and Ohmygod this is WONDERFUL! I can't stand anything apple, but my husband LOVEs apple anything. I had to try a piece just because i made it, and WOW! Best recipe I've tried from here yet!! Thank you my husband will LOVE this!! Great idea guys!! OH! I had one tweak, I had to make the apple filling twice because there was not enough sugar mixture to cover the apples to make them really pop with flavor. EVERYTHING else was great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DOMINIQUE24

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Napoli, Campania, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2006
It was the easiest recipe. I have been searching for the recipe that my grandmother always made. This is the close to what she made. The best part was the carmel. I sub. sugar for Splenda and Splenda (brown sugar blend), 2 (3 oz.) bags of sugar free candy, 1/2 can of evaporated milk. 15mins left in the cooking of the crisp I drizzal the melted carmel candy mixed with evapoated milk. I put it in a 9 x 13 cake pan. Everyone loves it. It is also something that my dad can have. He is Diabetic. I serve it warm toped with vanilla ice cream. MMMMMM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2006
I am giving this recipe only two stars as it is a disaster to clean up! It was tasty and everyone liked the flavor of the caramels, but the mess it made in my pan, took hours of soaking in boiling water and scrubbing! I strongly recommend that if you are going to try this, line your pan with HEAVY foil and then grease the foil, before putting the apples mixture in the pan. I will not make this again,think I will stick with my regular recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa Ruzycki

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milton, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Yorkton, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Best Apple Crisp Ever

Tart apples go perfectly with the sweet, crunchy topping.

Oatmeal Cookie Apple Crisp

Dessert that combines apple pie filling with cookie-like topping.

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States