Best Ever Caramel Apple Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
this crisp was amazing! i've gotten compliments on it from everyone who's eaten it. i would say that i used the suggestion to use a larger pan..but i probably could have fit it in a smaller pan (guess i used smaller apples). Also, i accidently added a cup of sugar to the "crisp", and it came out with more of a crust, but was still yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
Great dessert. I stole a few of ideas from other reviews, and I must admit, they were all correct: use a 9x13 foil lined pan and put the caramel on the apples and top with the crumble. I also used the caramel fruit dip and it worked great - it spreads easily and no messy pots to clean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
This recipe is delicious and I will definitely make it again, only with a couple of tweaks. One, the pan needs to be larger and should be sprayed with pam or greased first, second the caramel definitely needs to go on top of the apple mixture before the crumb topping. I used caramal syrup, the kind you would put on ice cream, and just warmed it in the microwave (lid off) to warm it so it would be easier to pour, it took about half a bottle. This is delicious served hot with whipped cream on top, my family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
212 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kodiak, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
This was outstanding. Everyone devoured it in 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
This truely is the BEST EVER APPLE CRISP!!!! I did save some time with cleaning the pan by lining the pan with the new no-stick renyolds foil. I ended up making this three times in one week everyone ate some much of it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Charles, Illinois, USA
Living In: Huntley, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2006
This was excellent. I used a 9x13 pan, and store-bought caramel. Next time, I think I will add raisins or something for contrast. Great recipe, I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Granger, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2006
Made this dessert following other comments and came out great. Used a pre-baked pie crust as a base and just piled filling into that instead of dealing with a large mess. Used a double-boiler to melt caramel so all in all clean up was a snap. Very sweet recipe that went great with vanilla ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
Very good apple crisp recipe. Next time I will apply the caramel after it is baked or on top of the apples as others have suggested. The caramel on top while baking does not allow the oat topping to get truly crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
great recipe. Used some of the tips from other bakers like putting the caramel on top of the apples and i used the caramel dip found in the veggie section of the grocery store. this cut down on messy dishes. Also browned the crisp topping in the broiler for a couple of minutes and it turned out fabulous. Thanks so much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Roselle Park, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
This really is the BEST! A real crowd pleaser. Yummy. Thank you for sharing this. I will make it for years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jami

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison Heights, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Apple Crisp Ever

Tart apples go perfectly with the sweet, crunchy topping.

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States