Best Ever Caramel Apple Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
this recipe was great! the topping was super crispy and just a perfect texture throughout. the ONLY change i made is that i cut the caramel topping in half. i drizzled it over the top and baked it. followed recipe to a T except the amount of caramel. will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PBJSANDWICHES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
This has to be one of the best dishes I have ever made. I had to make a second batch just to see what it tasted like. The first batch I made was too hot to eat when I left for work, I came home from working the graveyard shift thinking I would have some for breakfast. My family ate the entire pan without saving me a bite!!! I didn't tweak the recipe at all, and found it just fine the way it is, but I am sure I will keep the other reviewers tips in mind when I make it again. I will also be sure to make a pan just for myself!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
I made this the way other reviewers recommended (caramel between apples and crumble topping, 9x13 pan, etc.). It was very delicious, but very very goopy. The topping, instead of being crisp, was really soggy. Next time I think I would reduce the butter in the crumble, and reduce the overall amount of crumble and of caramel. I think that would help the crisp topping to actually be crisp. Also, I would use caramel ice cream topping; it was an awful lot of work unwrapping and melting all those individual caramels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
Delicious, but very watery. I would add tapioca or corn starch to thicken it up the next time. And, per other reviews, I added some cinnamon to the crumb topping, and it had a very nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2007
This was sooo good. after reading some other reviews, i did layer in the caramel before the crumb topping and I did spray the pan with pam first. I also used a bigger pan. I'll definitly make this again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toni Marie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2007
This was so delicious! It was gobbled right up at our family party. I think I did something wrong with the caramel though because it didn't drizzle, it just made one big caramel layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaddyRu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blue Springs, Missouri, USA
Living In: Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2007
it was very good I aslo used caramel syrup and put it underneath the topping. the topping was kinda bland even with adding some cinnamon. I would suggest using whipped topping and adding some more caramel ontop just perfect will makew agian
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
Was good but too much caramel which made it too "soggy". Next time I will do the caramels over the apples and not the crumble. I wished I would have read the other reviews before baking this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Embrun, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Guyton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
I followed the directions exactly as given and was very disappointed in the results. It was much too soupy & way too sweet. Not at all what I had expected. My nephew loved it, but everyone else agreed it was just too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
This recipe couldn't be easier, and it tastes delicious! It makes a lot of topping, which is my favorite part. Definitely use a 9x13 size pan, it makes a lot. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Apple Crisp Ever

Tart apples go perfectly with the sweet, crunchy topping.

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States