Best Ever Caramel Apple Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
I followed another reviewer advice, and added extra, lemon juice, and apple pie spices, alittle more white sugar, I omitted the water, and replaced with vanilla extract, and brandy adding to 1/4 cup. added the carmel topping, Mrs. Richardson butterscotch carmel topping, then last oatmeal topping. baked at 350' for about 45 min. the bomb!!! Family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
I made this for Thanksgiving this year instead of the traditional pumpkin pie. It was a hit, even though I forgot to add the caramel topping!! I wanted to shortcut it so I bought sundae caramel topping, which was forgotten in the refrigerator but the next time I make it I will follow the directions and make the caramel topping. Also paired it with ice cream- plain vanilla will do! YUMMO.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JKSATHER2001

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Racine, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
the BEST crisp! I've had nothing but rave reviews the last two times I've made this (both times for early Thanksgiving dinners with church and friends) and we are making it for today's family Thanksgiving feast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
Great recipe! Added 1/2 tsp vanilla extract. Cut back on crmel and sugar. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
This was a little too sweet for me but got rave reviews from everyone else. It would be great with vanilla ice cream to cut down the sweetness of the caramel a little bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RABORELLO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salisbury, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
It came out really wonderful! I didn't use the caramel topping at all because of a picky eater in my family but it was still a great basic apple crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oriana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
I have been waiting to make this one for a while. I finally got around to it tonight and WOW! It is the best apple crisp I have ever eaten! I only did a couple of things different. I used 6 medium Winesap apples because that is what I had on hand and I also added 1/4 tsp. ground cloves to give more of an apple pie taste. This is a great recipe and definitely a keeper. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairmont, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
Easy to do and tastes great. I use pre-made caramel sauce on top to save time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
Very good - my family loved it. I used the larger pan like several people suggested. I found it a little too sweet, next time use a little less sugar or less caramel. But all-in-all, everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Field

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
i made this recipe for my restaurant. everybody just loved it! thanks a bunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Apple Crisp Ever

Tart apples go perfectly with the sweet, crunchy topping.

Oatmeal Cookie Apple Crisp

Dessert that combines apple pie filling with cookie-like topping.

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States