Best Ever Caramel Apple Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
Great recipe! Added 1/2 tsp vanilla extract. Cut back on crmel and sugar. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
This was a little too sweet for me but got rave reviews from everyone else. It would be great with vanilla ice cream to cut down the sweetness of the caramel a little bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RABORELLO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salisbury, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
It came out really wonderful! I didn't use the caramel topping at all because of a picky eater in my family but it was still a great basic apple crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oriana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
I have been waiting to make this one for a while. I finally got around to it tonight and WOW! It is the best apple crisp I have ever eaten! I only did a couple of things different. I used 6 medium Winesap apples because that is what I had on hand and I also added 1/4 tsp. ground cloves to give more of an apple pie taste. This is a great recipe and definitely a keeper. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairmont, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
Easy to do and tastes great. I use pre-made caramel sauce on top to save time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
Very good - my family loved it. I used the larger pan like several people suggested. I found it a little too sweet, next time use a little less sugar or less caramel. But all-in-all, everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
i made this recipe for my restaurant. everybody just loved it! thanks a bunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sweetiesmj
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
I made this today for a dessert and followed the advice of past reviewers. I used a 9x13 baking dish, doubled the cinnamon, added nutmeg and allspice. I also doubled the lemon juice, omitted the water and added Mexican vanilla. I poured pre-made caramel sauce - about a 1/4 cup - over the apples and then put the crumble mixture on. It came out great...sweet but not overpowering. The top was crispy and the apple mixture was a perfect texture (not mushy at all). The taste was spot on. I served it warm with a drizzle of caramel sauce and a scoop of vanilla ice cream. Yum! I will add this to my list of seasonal apple recipes. Thank you, St. Matthew First Graders!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetiesmj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stratford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Naugatuck, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
this recipe was great! the topping was super crispy and just a perfect texture throughout. the ONLY change i made is that i cut the caramel topping in half. i drizzled it over the top and baked it. followed recipe to a T except the amount of caramel. will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PBJSANDWICHES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
This has to be one of the best dishes I have ever made. I had to make a second batch just to see what it tasted like. The first batch I made was too hot to eat when I left for work, I came home from working the graveyard shift thinking I would have some for breakfast. My family ate the entire pan without saving me a bite!!! I didn't tweak the recipe at all, and found it just fine the way it is, but I am sure I will keep the other reviewers tips in mind when I make it again. I will also be sure to make a pan just for myself!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Related Videos

Best Apple Crisp Ever

Tart apples go perfectly with the sweet, crunchy topping.

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States