Best Ever Caramel Apple Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
As the name implies it IS the best ever. I have a few suggestions for everyone. use a ziploc bag. make the filling, peel and cut the apples then add the apples to the ziploc bag pour in the filling and let marinate while you finish with the rest of the recipe. apples and sauce can even be made the night before and refrigerated. dont forget to double the lemon juice and cinnamon for the sauce. Instead of using flour use vanilla pudding, one box is a half cup. homemade caramel is the best and easiest way to go, medium high heat in a large saucepan stick of butter, cup of sugar and 1.25 cups of heavy cream added slowly and after the sugar turns a nice golden brown. you will have some left over that can be put in a jar and used on ice cream or French toast, mmmm. half the crumble recipe and add a dash of cinnamon. instead of water for the sauce use another liquid i.e. brandy, heavy cream, cider. the last 10 - 15 minutes of bake time sprinkle 1/4 - 1/2 cup finely chopped pecans to the top, its adds a great crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
236 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nicademusx

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
This is a very delicious recipe. My family loved it! I didn't have to make any alterations at all. It was perfect just the way it was. My only suggestion is to try it with a scoop of vanilla ice cream. Simply scrumptious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
Overall very tasty recipe, but very watery. Definitely need a bigger pan than 8x8...will make it again, but will cut way down on the water, and mabye cut the crumb topping down by a third as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
Recipe excellent. However, please note the pan size in this recipe. No way this is a 8 x 8 size pan. This is for 9 x 13 pan. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
Very good balance of tartness, sweetness, and crunch! I bake in individual ramekins and serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
I followed another reviewer advice, and added extra, lemon juice, and apple pie spices, alittle more white sugar, I omitted the water, and replaced with vanilla extract, and brandy adding to 1/4 cup. added the carmel topping, Mrs. Richardson butterscotch carmel topping, then last oatmeal topping. baked at 350' for about 45 min. the bomb!!! Family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
I made this for Thanksgiving this year instead of the traditional pumpkin pie. It was a hit, even though I forgot to add the caramel topping!! I wanted to shortcut it so I bought sundae caramel topping, which was forgotten in the refrigerator but the next time I make it I will follow the directions and make the caramel topping. Also paired it with ice cream- plain vanilla will do! YUMMO.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JKSATHER2001

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Racine, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
the BEST crisp! I've had nothing but rave reviews the last two times I've made this (both times for early Thanksgiving dinners with church and friends) and we are making it for today's family Thanksgiving feast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
Great recipe! Added 1/2 tsp vanilla extract. Cut back on crmel and sugar. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
This was a little too sweet for me but got rave reviews from everyone else. It would be great with vanilla ice cream to cut down the sweetness of the caramel a little bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RABORELLO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salisbury, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Best Apple Crisp Ever

Tart apples go perfectly with the sweet, crunchy topping.

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States