Best Ever Butter Cream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2005
This is very good tasting. I beat my egg whites stiff, and let my milk cool and used room temp butter. I mixed for 13 minutes and it was like velvet. I even used food coloring and had no problem!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2000
I am a have-to-have-it-fast-and-it-has-to-be-easy-cooker so this is a great recipe for my habits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2006
This frosting was great, I made it for a flag cake for my 4th of July party. Everyone loved it! I made it because I whipped the cream I was going to use into butter and made this as a last ditch effort. I followed the recipe exactly and was worried about half way when I stopped the mixer to check on it and it looked like a separated mess. I decided to keep on blending hoping it would pull together, and boy was I glad. About 10 min later it all of a sudden whipped right into perfect frosting. It really does take 20-25 min of whipping to get it right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Laguna Hills, California, USA
Living In: Greeley, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2006
The best frosting I ever made. I use it all the time. My friends and family love it. Have given the recipe out many times. Never had any trouble getting it to blend together.I mixed it for about ten min. and the texture was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
This was the best buttercream frosting I had ever tasted. I followed the advice of some of the other raters that suggested mixing the flour and milk before putting on the heat. I cooked it until it was starting to thicken (but not thick enough to form a ball, pourable thick). And instead of 1 cup of sugar I used 1 1/4. It turned out perfect and everyone loved it. It was so heavenly that it melted in your mouth. I would recommend this recipe and will definitely use it from now on when I want a buttercream frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2006
This recipe is wonderful. Though the frosting is rich, it isn't too sweet. I usually hate frosting - way too sugary - and this was really excellent. I will certainly make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarietty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Westchester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2006
I LOVE the flavor of this frosting. I did have a hard time frosting cake. It got hard in fridge but I still put on cake. I put on "Mystery Chocolate Cake". I will make this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taylor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Caro, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2006
this was just great. i put it on my banana cake. Excellent kind of time consuming but worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindy Patrick

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lapeer, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2000
This is a very tasty recipe, however, it is extremely rich. I could not finish the piece of cake I put it on. Also, it gets hard when chilled, so if you're going to put the cake in the fridge, take it out a little while before serving. Otherwise it was good though, I'm definatly saving this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2002
excellent excellent frosting, however, it did take a bit of time adding more and more confectioners sugar to get the perfect consistancy. Overall, a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Best Peanut Butter Cookies Ever

Your family will love these dense, no-flour cookies.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States