Best Ever Butter Cream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2000
I am a have-to-have-it-fast-and-it-has-to-be-easy-cooker so this is a great recipe for my habits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2000
No doubt, this concoction has a nice flavor. However, it was a disaster to work with!I followed the directions precisely and the ingredients seperated! I wound up with an oily liquid in the bottom of the bowl! I managed to scrape some "frosting" off the top and plop it onto some cupcakes, just because I couldn't bare to give up. I refridgerated the cupcakes with the blobs of goo and they turned out to be ugly and crusty. Don't waste your time and energy with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2000
This is a very tasty recipe, however, it is extremely rich. I could not finish the piece of cake I put it on. Also, it gets hard when chilled, so if you're going to put the cake in the fridge, take it out a little while before serving. Otherwise it was good though, I'm definatly saving this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2001
Does "white sugar" possibly mean powdered sugar? Because let me tell you, white sugar with this recipe looks like a science project. I managed to save the separated liquidy mess by adding about half a bag of powdered sugar. What a loser recipe. My poor kitchen aide worked its little hiney off for nothing! My husband said throw it away, but I put it in the fridge just for the experimental value of bacteria growth rate tracking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2001
It was nasty I wasted my materials. Don't use this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2001
This is a great receipe, it was easy and it tastes like ice cream. I don't know what problems everyone was having but the butter has to be room temp, the milk has to be cooled and added slowly and it needs to be whipped about 10 to 15 minutes. If you make the receipe correctly it will be good! Also white sugar means granulated sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2002
excellent excellent frosting, however, it did take a bit of time adding more and more confectioners sugar to get the perfect consistancy. Overall, a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2002
I hate to write negative reviews, but after preparing this frosting, I had no choice. This is NOT a buttercream frosting! This frosting tasted like whipped lard. If you are looking for a REAL butter cream frosting, then this is not the recipe for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
249 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2003
This was a disaster and a waste of ingredients. It separated, never formed a true frosting, and I had to throw it out and find another recipe. Don't waste your time and money with this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2003
I was dissapointed with this recipe. It almost tasted like eating pure butter and sugar. Try using 1/2 a cup of butter and 1/2 a cup of shortening instead of a whole cup of butter. I also found that adding the whole 3/4 cup of milk made it too thin in texture. This recipe was a waste of my time and ingrediants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Best Peanut Butter Cookies Ever

Your family will love these dense, no-flour cookies.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States