Best Ever Butter Cream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by Fay
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
This is some of the best tasting icing I have ever made but, in spite of that, I can only rate it with 3 stars. I was looking for a recipe for whipped cream frosting and happened upon this. In spite of the mixed reviews, I couldn't resist. The frosting is really fluffy and is not overpoweringly sweet at all. But I couldn't make it stop separating and I beat it with commercial-grade mixer for 25 min. Finally, I ended up allowing it to sit for an hour and then draining the liquid off (over a half cup) and beating it again. This time it fluffed right up and stayed that way. My family thought that it was wonderfully tasty and, in light of that, I will probably make it again. I would be afraid to frost a cake and take the cake to a function because it really does need to be refrigerated. Also, I had to double the recipe to have enough to ice a layer cake. (Admittedly, we like lots of frosting though).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
I didn't enjoy this frosting. Almost too buttery and I missed the powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
I followed the recipe exactly, and this frosting is obviously too much of a hit or miss risk - I don't know what it is to have such greatly differed results between people. I used an electric hand mixer on high speed for over 45 minutes and it still didnt fluff up - it was stuck oily and separated. I remember my stand-up mixer back home has a "cream" and "frosting" setting on its highest power (very, very powerful at this setting). It could be that the recipe turned out to be a big wastefull mess for me because My little hand mixer might just not have been powerful enough to create frosting. I would only try this recipe if you have a powerful stand up mixer. I'm going to continue my search for a less heavy, more fluffy frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clemson, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Erfurt, Thüringen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2006
I followed the recipe to a tee and this came out perfectly! It's just like the professionally-made buttercream that was on my wedding cake. One tip: My icing seemed to have creamed together after about 5 minutes, and I considered stopping beating it. However, I'm glad I FOLLOWED THE RECIPE and beat it for 20 minutes, because the consistency was much creamier and more consistent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meg Barger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
At first I thought this recipe was a horrible practical joke. I was beating and beating and it stayed seperated and horrible looking. I persevered and, suddenly, the whole thing came together. You have to beat for at least 20 minutes to get that to happen. It may have been the colour of my butter, but it was a very pale yellow colour so I couldn't use it to ice the outside of my cake. Instead, I used it between the layers. It's got a melt-in-the mouth texture and my Lady said that it tasted like sweetened cream. After refrigerating, it held the cake together well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
My sister and I used this recipe when we realized we had no confectioner's sugar in the house! We mostly use it on sugar cookies, and it is a wonderful frosting for cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Etna, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2006
This recipe is wonderful. Though the frosting is rich, it isn't too sweet. I usually hate frosting - way too sugary - and this was really excellent. I will certainly make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarietty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Westchester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2006
The best frosting I ever made. I use it all the time. My friends and family love it. Have given the recipe out many times. Never had any trouble getting it to blend together.I mixed it for about ten min. and the texture was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2006
This frosting was great, I made it for a flag cake for my 4th of July party. Everyone loved it! I made it because I whipped the cream I was going to use into butter and made this as a last ditch effort. I followed the recipe exactly and was worried about half way when I stopped the mixer to check on it and it looked like a separated mess. I decided to keep on blending hoping it would pull together, and boy was I glad. About 10 min later it all of a sudden whipped right into perfect frosting. It really does take 20-25 min of whipping to get it right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Laguna Hills, California, USA
Living In: Greeley, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2006
this was just great. i put it on my banana cake. Excellent kind of time consuming but worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindy Patrick

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lapeer, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Best Peanut Butter Cookies Ever

Your family will love these dense, no-flour cookies.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States