Best Ever Butter Cream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
I tryed this recipe even though it had quite a few negative reviews and thought it was..... ok? It did have a very creamy texture but it tasted like straight butter!!! I don't think I'll be using it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
This is the best butter cream I have ever used. Even out of all the butter creams I made in baking school, this is by far the best. It does take quite awhile but it is worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zombiewhit

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Longview, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
I decided to try this recipe in spite of the bad reviews. I'm glad I did. It is a fantastic frosting recipe! Not overly sweet, and so light and fluffy. I believe the key to this recipe is to follow it exactly. Make sure to cool the milk completely after heating it. Also make sure to beat the egg white long enough - I beat it for 5 minutes. The frosting did look disgusting for the first 5-7 minutes of beating - then it started to go together and formed a light, fluffy and delicious frosting. I will be using this recipe for years to come. My only suggestion would be to use a stand mixer because holding up the hand mixer for 15 minutes killed my arms and shoulders!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
I'm on Team 'NOT' with regards to these reviews. It's just too much....butter. My brother stated he would rather spread it on a ham sandwich. Yes, a classic bakery buttercream is very very buttery, but it's sweet and thick. This was neither.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
This is my family recipe (my sis posted this). To all with the low feedback you definitely did something wrong, this recipe is very easy but must be followed exactly as written. It looks horrible when mixing but it does come together and makes a great TRUE buttercream frosting, it is not sickenly sweet like most buttercream frostings that use a whole pound of sugar. This frosting tastes absoulutely phenom on chocolate cake. We have gotten so used to all the sugar and fat free stuff that many don't recognize a great real buttercream frosting. Anyways please have patience and follow the recipe as written and you will have a great buttercream frosting that is NOT too sweet to anyone wanting to refrig or freeze before you use just warm it up and remix it, I freeze it all the time and it reseperates but comes right back together when I remix. Actually tastes better and is even fluffier after freezing and remixing. I do have a kitchen aide which makes it alot easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pink0827

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ray, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
So glad I didn't read the reviews untill I was done. I had no difficulty making this recipe and it is Delicious!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
Oh H E doubble hockey sticks yea, This is totally The Best recipe ever. The flavor is outstanding!!! How could anyone ever give this recipe a negitive review. They so must have something wrong with their taste buds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
This the very best frosting ever. Not to rich. Iwill probably never use another. So simple. Thanks so much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
I burnt up my mixer trying to get it to thicken up. I mixed it for over an hour. I had to add confectionary sugar and cream cheese to be able to thicken this recipe. I'll never attempt this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
i forgot to get frosting at the store, so i found this recipe... it was great! i was missing vanilla extract, so i substituted coconut extract.. it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Pipi Jones
Home Town: Odenton, Maryland, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Peanut Butter Cookies Ever

Your family will love these dense, no-flour cookies.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States