Best Ever Butter Cream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
This is not a recipe for someone who wants a quick frosting. While it's simple to make, I find that few have the patience to do it correctly. I've made this frosting a number of times and always recieve rave reviews because it does compliment a number of cake flavors without overpowering them. If it tastes like lard or butter, consider adding another drop of two of higher end vanilla extract. Also, you'll need to use real, unsalted creamy butter to achieve the best taste. if you're using margarine, I'd advise you to try it again with butter! I have really enjoyed this recipe on a light and fluffy banana strawberry cake and then zest lemon on the top of the frosting. I find it to be refreshing and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by proudusnavywife

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookings, Oregon, USA
Living In: Lake Stevens, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
it tasted great but the frosting seperated:P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
After reading the reviews I agree. My daughter followed directions and it separated!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
I am no professional but this frosting turned out amazing!! When I poured the milk in it was slightly warm still which I think help prevent things separating. The butter also melted some which i thought was going to do me in, not so much. Tabbed in my favorites forever!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2011
Have always made the long version of true butter cream frosting. This recipe is great! And the taste is right on. Best made with a standard mixer, not a hand model mixer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
My 12 yr old found this recipe and decided to make it. She made me stir the milk to a boil, whip up the egg after beating it for only 1 minute, we cooled the milk in freezer and added the other ingredients and it looked like a soupy lumpy mess. She started to mix it and got impatient and put on the cake, then whined that it was "too sweet and watery". I removed the icing from the cake and put back in the mixing bowl, and after mixing at high speed for at least 10 minutes, like magic, the icing took on a creamy light consistency and tasted absolutely fabulous (and looked much better, although she had put food coloring in it to make it lavender). So she learned to "follow directions" and it was well worth it, although interrupting my evening t.v. shows multiple times for "help"!! Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by docpms

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boca Raton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
ok this frosting was the best when i first made it, but WARNING! Don't throw it into the fridge for use later on. I did that and it turned hard. I tried to fix it but it just wasn't the same. It looked like cottage cheese after....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pineapplegirl808

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
By far the best ever.....easy to make (follow instructions 100%) and the best I ever had. Hint.....have everything at room temp. Also....serve at room temp. as you have to do with all butter creams. LOVE IT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
I'm so glad I made this before I needed it. I followed the directions exactly, and after adding the milk, it never came back together. After whisking on 10 for 35 minutes, its still a lumpy, watery mess. Not sure what the secret is, but if you could maybe put it in the directions, so we get more than 1 step...that would be great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Wow best frosting ever. You have to follow the directions to a T but well worth it. Milk must be no warmer then room temp and butter no softer then room temp. Thanks for the awesome find!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Peanut Butter Cookies Ever

Your family will love these dense, no-flour cookies.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States