Best Ever Butter Cream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
I loved this frosting...it was creamy and tasted fabulous. My kids who hate the so called "standard icing on cakes" also loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
I followed step by step and used the right ingredients .I like "the best icing ever". I did that recipe and it turned out so much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
I made this because it doesn't use corn products. My family loved this recipe. The only change I made was using a touch of almond extract along with the vanilla. I used my KitchenAid mixer and followed the directions as written. It takes a long time to make it but really worth it. I was able to do basic piping of a shell border and name writing with it. A keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
I only made this recipe b/c it didn’t require powdered sugar. It tastes okayish…but more like fat/butter than frosting. After 20 minutes of mixing it looks like frosting, but it's a strange oily/fatty/slimy consistency. Takes too long to mix and the results aren’t worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
I was somewhat disappointed in this recipe. Unlike a lot of reviews, I actually found it quite easy to make -I used my kitchenaid mixer (I can't imagine using a handheld mixer for 20mins). It looked terrible for the first 10 or so minutes of mixing, completely separated and chunky, but eventually it came together nicely. My issue is the taste: prepared as-is it tasted like sweetened butter. I ended up adding half a cup of powdered sugar and it was a bit better, but I would not consider it the "Best Ever" buttercream icing recipe at all. I'll be trying a different recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
Horrible recipe...,turned out to be butter and watery milk seperated...huge waste of time and food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
probally one of the worst textures to put on a cake! it really was like eating whipped butter! tried to fix by adding a good amount of cocoa, not too bad after i did that
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
This recipe was great, not too sweet and very creamy. Loved it. Used margarine. Perhaps with butter will upgrade to 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
This is not a recipe for someone who wants a quick frosting. While it's simple to make, I find that few have the patience to do it correctly. I've made this frosting a number of times and always recieve rave reviews because it does compliment a number of cake flavors without overpowering them. If it tastes like lard or butter, consider adding another drop of two of higher end vanilla extract. Also, you'll need to use real, unsalted creamy butter to achieve the best taste. if you're using margarine, I'd advise you to try it again with butter! I have really enjoyed this recipe on a light and fluffy banana strawberry cake and then zest lemon on the top of the frosting. I find it to be refreshing and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by proudusnavywife

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookings, Oregon, USA
Living In: Lake Stevens, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
it tasted great but the frosting seperated:P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Peanut Butter Cookies Ever

Your family will love these dense, no-flour cookies.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States