Best Ever Butter Cream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2005
This recipe tasted like buttercream frosting but it never fluffed up. I had the mixer on full blast and let it beat for 10 minutes and it never fluffed up. There needs to be some clarification whether or not the egg white needs to be beaten before adding it to the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2005
this was great! I'd never made frosting before, and was ready to give up on it, thinking that I'd done something wrong, because it was looking curdled all the while I was beating it, but then, like magic, *poof*... it became thick and creamy. Glad I waited those extra two minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2004
As a beginner baker, I was looking for a frosting that was easy to make with few materials. But then I found this one! I thought I'd done something wrong, when the butter mess was floating on the sugary milk. That's what I get for not reading reviews first! Unless you want a mess....stay away!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2003
I was dissapointed with this recipe. It almost tasted like eating pure butter and sugar. Try using 1/2 a cup of butter and 1/2 a cup of shortening instead of a whole cup of butter. I also found that adding the whole 3/4 cup of milk made it too thin in texture. This recipe was a waste of my time and ingrediants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2003
This was a disaster and a waste of ingredients. It separated, never formed a true frosting, and I had to throw it out and find another recipe. Don't waste your time and money with this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2002
I hate to write negative reviews, but after preparing this frosting, I had no choice. This is NOT a buttercream frosting! This frosting tasted like whipped lard. If you are looking for a REAL butter cream frosting, then this is not the recipe for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
254 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2002
excellent excellent frosting, however, it did take a bit of time adding more and more confectioners sugar to get the perfect consistancy. Overall, a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2001
This is a great receipe, it was easy and it tastes like ice cream. I don't know what problems everyone was having but the butter has to be room temp, the milk has to be cooled and added slowly and it needs to be whipped about 10 to 15 minutes. If you make the receipe correctly it will be good! Also white sugar means granulated sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2001
It was nasty I wasted my materials. Don't use this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2001
Does "white sugar" possibly mean powdered sugar? Because let me tell you, white sugar with this recipe looks like a science project. I managed to save the separated liquidy mess by adding about half a bag of powdered sugar. What a loser recipe. My poor kitchen aide worked its little hiney off for nothing! My husband said throw it away, but I put it in the fridge just for the experimental value of bacteria growth rate tracking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Peanut Butter Cookies Ever

Your family will love these dense, no-flour cookies.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States