Best Ever Butter Cream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2006
I would like to think I'm a fairly good cook but this recipe made me feel the likewise. Nothing I did could bring this mixture together!!! I even tried adding extra icing sugar, but once the mixer got turned off it all separated!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chippawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Welland, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2006
I LOVE the flavor of this frosting. I did have a hard time frosting cake. It got hard in fridge but I still put on cake. I put on "Mystery Chocolate Cake". I will make this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taylor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Caro, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
This was the best buttercream frosting I had ever tasted. I followed the advice of some of the other raters that suggested mixing the flour and milk before putting on the heat. I cooked it until it was starting to thicken (but not thick enough to form a ball, pourable thick). And instead of 1 cup of sugar I used 1 1/4. It turned out perfect and everyone loved it. It was so heavenly that it melted in your mouth. I would recommend this recipe and will definitely use it from now on when I want a buttercream frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2005
This is very good tasting. I beat my egg whites stiff, and let my milk cool and used room temp butter. I mixed for 13 minutes and it was like velvet. I even used food coloring and had no problem!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2005
This recipe tasted like buttercream frosting but it never fluffed up. I had the mixer on full blast and let it beat for 10 minutes and it never fluffed up. There needs to be some clarification whether or not the egg white needs to be beaten before adding it to the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2005
this was great! I'd never made frosting before, and was ready to give up on it, thinking that I'd done something wrong, because it was looking curdled all the while I was beating it, but then, like magic, *poof*... it became thick and creamy. Glad I waited those extra two minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2004
As a beginner baker, I was looking for a frosting that was easy to make with few materials. But then I found this one! I thought I'd done something wrong, when the butter mess was floating on the sugary milk. That's what I get for not reading reviews first! Unless you want a mess....stay away!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2003
I was dissapointed with this recipe. It almost tasted like eating pure butter and sugar. Try using 1/2 a cup of butter and 1/2 a cup of shortening instead of a whole cup of butter. I also found that adding the whole 3/4 cup of milk made it too thin in texture. This recipe was a waste of my time and ingrediants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2003
This was a disaster and a waste of ingredients. It separated, never formed a true frosting, and I had to throw it out and find another recipe. Don't waste your time and money with this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2002
I hate to write negative reviews, but after preparing this frosting, I had no choice. This is NOT a buttercream frosting! This frosting tasted like whipped lard. If you are looking for a REAL butter cream frosting, then this is not the recipe for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
252 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Best Peanut Butter Cookies Ever

Your family will love these dense, no-flour cookies.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States