Best Ever Butter Cream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by bebedamour
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
Read all the reviews (all 109!) and decided to give it a whirl. I liked the simplicity of the ingredients as well as the fact there wasn't loads of sugar. I used coffee cream instead of milk but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. Turned out great, did not separate at all. Perhaps because I made sure to beat the egg white until peaks formed, added the sugar slowly and after letting the cream cool, added it slowly as well. Used a handheld mixer and beat for about ten minutes. Turned out perfectly, exactly what I wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bebedamour

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
I gave this recipe only a two star review because this "frosting" came out SOOOOO greasy I was able to partly save it by adding a big handful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
This buttercream frosting came out a little bit greasy The only reason I gave this recipe more than two stars was because I was able to rescue it by adding about a good handful of flour without the flower it was greasy it even slid off my finger when I went to taste it!!!!!!!!!!!!!:(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
I tried this recipe. It separated and didn't come together at all. I would not recommend this to anyone as a frosting. For everyone who had this problem, put everything into a pot as is. Everything will melt and come together, but will be liquidy, which is normal. Check from time to time by putting a very, VERY small amount into a cup with cold water. When it forms a soft ball, add a few scoops of peanut butter or a few handfuls of chocolate chips and melt together. Put into a heat-safe pan. This recipe makes a better fudge base than frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
I beat this frosting forever and only ended up with buttery soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
I too, was a bit disappointed with the recipe. However, I also had to change the servings to expand the recipe. It turned out well, by appearance...until I tasted it and it was indeed very heavy on the butter side. I have not had any problems with changing serving sizes in the past, with any recipe except this one. I may try it again with less butter. Thanks for sharing this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
I use this exact same recipe ALL the time. The only thing different I do is add 1 tblsp of flour to get it to form. And just keep BEATING it! That the key! My ingredient amounts vary slightly. I use mine when I make Gobs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
Thanks for the review with the suggestion to add powdered sugar. Overall I would say, too much work/ time for average frosting. Without the addition of powdered sugar I would agree with the suggestion to put on cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb D4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jenison, Michigan, USA
Living In: Comstock Park, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
WOW!!!! I made this exactly per the recipe (white sugar is granulated). It is amazing!!!!! So super creamy and, as another review said, is like ice cream. Not too sweet, it's perfect! It does take a little bit of time, but is well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
I loved this frosting...it was creamy and tasted fabulous. My kids who hate the so called "standard icing on cakes" also loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Peanut Butter Cookies Ever

Your family will love these dense, no-flour cookies.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States