Best Ever Butter Cream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 1, 2014
I tried this recipe. It separated and didn't come together at all. I would not recommend this to anyone as a frosting. For everyone who had this problem, put everything into a pot as is. Everything will melt and come together, but will be liquidy, which is normal. Check from time to time by putting a very, VERY small amount into a cup with cold water. When it forms a soft ball, add a few scoops of peanut butter or a few handfuls of chocolate chips and melt together. Put into a heat-safe pan. This recipe makes a better fudge base than frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
I beat this frosting forever and only ended up with buttery soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
I too, was a bit disappointed with the recipe. However, I also had to change the servings to expand the recipe. It turned out well, by appearance...until I tasted it and it was indeed very heavy on the butter side. I have not had any problems with changing serving sizes in the past, with any recipe except this one. I may try it again with less butter. Thanks for sharing this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
I use this exact same recipe ALL the time. The only thing different I do is add 1 tblsp of flour to get it to form. And just keep BEATING it! That the key! My ingredient amounts vary slightly. I use mine when I make Gobs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
Thanks for the review with the suggestion to add powdered sugar. Overall I would say, too much work/ time for average frosting. Without the addition of powdered sugar I would agree with the suggestion to put on cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb D4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jenison, Michigan, USA
Living In: Comstock Park, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
WOW!!!! I made this exactly per the recipe (white sugar is granulated). It is amazing!!!!! So super creamy and, as another review said, is like ice cream. Not too sweet, it's perfect! It does take a little bit of time, but is well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
I loved this frosting...it was creamy and tasted fabulous. My kids who hate the so called "standard icing on cakes" also loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
I followed step by step and used the right ingredients .I like "the best icing ever". I did that recipe and it turned out so much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
I made this because it doesn't use corn products. My family loved this recipe. The only change I made was using a touch of almond extract along with the vanilla. I used my KitchenAid mixer and followed the directions as written. It takes a long time to make it but really worth it. I was able to do basic piping of a shell border and name writing with it. A keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
I only made this recipe b/c it didn’t require powdered sugar. It tastes okayish…but more like fat/butter than frosting. After 20 minutes of mixing it looks like frosting, but it's a strange oily/fatty/slimy consistency. Takes too long to mix and the results aren’t worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Best Peanut Butter Cookies Ever

Your family will love these dense, no-flour cookies.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States