Best Ever Brisket Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
I have cooked many briskets in my life but never had one turn out as delicious and fall-apart tender as this one. Briskets are hard to find in Southeastern Tennessee...when I ask a butcher, they always show me a Corned Beef Brisket. So when I found a 6# flat beef brisket a few weeks ago, I snatched it up and put it in the freezer for a special occasion dinner. Then along came this recipe and Easter dinner at the same time so I made the brisket exactly as the recipe called for, except I didn't allow for the extra 2# pounds of my brisket. So there was way too much sauce for the too-small roasting pan which made a big mess in my oven. The brisket was so juicy it didn't need the added beef broth. All that said, this was the most delicious brisket ever. Everyone in my large family was raving about it!! There is only enough leftover (I had to hide it) for some BBQ sandwiches tonight. This is the only way I will ever cook brisket again. By the way, this is my first review...I was never moved by a recipe to write one before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
253 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Kansas, USA
Living In: Ten Mile, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
This recipe is very tender and juicy. I took the advise of the other reviewers and cut down on the salt. After the brisket was finished cooking I scraped off the seasoning and discarded. Put the brisket aside then used the juice and made a sauce to pour over the brisket. My whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
169 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VScott
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
I've had this recipe in my box to try since it was first published. However, I've never made (or maybe even eaten?) brisket before, so I didn't realize it's not a grocery store meat staple (or even a butcher staple here in my small town). However, I finally found a brisket and the search was WORTH IT! Even though everything in me wanted to add liquid smoke (I don't even know why...just because I *thought* I should), I resisted and stayed true to the recipe (um, w/out black pepper because I detest black pepper) and I'm so glad I did. It is AMAZING, as is! I did not find it too salty (in fact, I added a little sea salt to mine at service) and the chili powder is spot on. My brisket was a touch over 4lbs. I'm going to start stockpiling brisket so I'll always have one on hand in the future, just for this recipe. The day I could finally use my brisket ended up being a weekday, so I prepared the spices, rubbed the meat, then tossed it in the a large crock pot and poured a can of beef broth over it all and cooked on low for about 10 hours. THANKS for a fantastic recipe, ChristineD!!!!! If you haven't tried this yet (and w/only 40 reviews, lots of you are missing out!), DO IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by HCBYRD
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
Great recipe... I added a few ingredients to the rub: 2 tsp ground mustard and 1 crushed bayleaf, and also a little more water to the pan... it turned out great and very tender... I had some "Sauce" left over from the "Sylvia's Ribs" I made the other night and served it with the brisket... awesome combination!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HCBYRD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Can_It_Rachael
Reviewed: May 11, 2009
I hope I can stop licking my plate long enough to write this review! I made the recipe as written and finished the last hour of cook time on the grill using indirect heat. WOW! Hubby and daughter stuffed themselves and I have to say that the only bad thing about this brisket, is that we were too full to take our evening walk!!I have been known to eat leftover pizza for breakfast, but I think I will have a brisket sandwich come day light. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Can_It_Rachael

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rhinelander, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shanagan
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
If you take out the seasoned salt and use 2tsp dry mustard and a crushed bayleaf instead, this is an exact match for Tom Perini's recipe (also attributed to him at the food tv site via Paula Deen). He's quite famous here in TX as the owner of Perini Ranch Steakhouse, so I knew if I could trust any oven brisket recipe it would be this one. Thanks for adding it. **UPDATE - Don't panic if you check the brisket after a few hours and it's "done" according to a meat thermometer but tough and dry -- brisket needs to REALLY cook down to become tender, and the full cooktime listed here is absolutely correct. The liquid will keep it from getting dried out, but you do NOT rely on a thermometer for this cut of meat, it needs to cook FOREVER for the connective tissue to break down and get tender. Also, in Texas you can't buy a 4lb brisket - about 9-15lbs is the norm, so I can see why some people are having trouble figuring this recipe out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shanagan

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
This recipe was exactly what I was looking for.Excellent!I added 1 tablespoon smoked paprika and rubbed the mixture onto the brisket.Then sprinkled liquid smoke ontop.After cooking at 350 for 1 hour in my roaster uncovered I added the beef broth and covered it then reduced the temp to 220 and cooked for about 4 hours. Then at that point it shredded beautifully and was so moist and flavorful it did't even need sauce although bbq sauce would be great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
My boyfriend had two huge helpings. I did use some of the reviewers ideas. I served with white bread, dill pickles and Stubb's Bar BQ sauce!! Awesome! I can't wait for leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
first time making brisket was very easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
Simply wonderful. We like cumin, so I added a some of that at well. It turned out very tender, and was a nice change from the way I usually see brisket (bbq).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 254) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States