Best Ever Blueberry Cobbler Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2006
I've made this recipe a few times now and must say that the addition of cinnamon both into the berry mixture and cobbler batter really makes this recipe pop. I add about a 1/2 teaspoon to each, but also increase the amount of berries to 5 cups and orange juice to about 1/2 cup. Also I read many reviews of this recipe being too sweet, but I find that with fruit recipes you really have to taste the fruit before you use it to know how much sugar is needed. I rather like the cakey cobbler this recipe produces as opposed to some with a denser topping. The best compliment this recipe can get from me is that even my very picky hubby requests it regularly. Thanks for a nice basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
577 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2003
Terrific recipe vaulted into the five-star category by two changes. I have added 1/2 tsp of lemon zest(grated peel) and a bare sprinkle of cinnamon to the blueberry mixture on the bottom. Have added a streusel topping (over the existing two layers in the original recipe) consisting of 1/3 c. Bisquick, 1/3 c. packed brown sugar, 2 T. butter and 1/2 cup chopped pecans. The crunch and nuttiness were missing previously. Mix all streusel topping ingredients together with a pastry blender or forks and sprinkle evenly over the middle layer, baking for 35-40 minutes as usual. Vanilla ice cream is a must for most fans. Oo-o-o, LOOK OUT! It's TOO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
386 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2005
This is really good! But I did make some changes, namely: 1) I used frozen blueberries. 2) To the berry mix, I added about 2 dashes of ground nutmeg, 1/2 tsp. ground cinnamon, and 1.5 tbsp. cornstarch. I also increased the white sugar by 1 tbsp (total of 4 tbsp). The sweetness was just right. 3) I used a rectangular pan, 9.5" x 7". I think that the serving size is more like 4 than 6.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
314 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Skellefteå, Vasterbottens, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2006
This was not a cobbler recipe for me. What I call a cobbler has a crusty crust and this cobbler had a cake like topping which was thick and absorbed the filling into it. The fruit underneath tasted great, but I just did not like the cake like top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
141 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
This recipe was amazing! My first cobbler ever, and it was immediately gobbled up! I made the following changes to it, based off of other reviews. 1) I used 4 cups of blueberries. 2) I used brown sugar instead of white sugar with the blueberries. 3) I added 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon both to the blueberries and the batter. 4) I added 2 tablespoons of cornstarch to the blueberries. 5) I sprinkled the blueberries with a little bit of nutmeg. 6) I made 1.5 amount of batter (using 2 eggs). 7) I didn't have an 8x8 dish, so I used a 9x7. 8) I added a streusel topping: 5 tablespoons of brown sugar, 2 tablespoons of flour, 2 tablespoons of butter, and 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon. My cobbler was done cooking in just under 30 minutes. I served it with Cool Whip, and it was a big hit. I know it sounds like a lot of changes, but I read a year's worth of reviews, and these were changes suggested by many users. I will definitely add this to my dessert rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2003
Oh my gosh...this is an outstanding recipe. My daughter and I picked blueberries this morning and I made it tonight. My family devoured it. My husband happened to accidentally drop his second helping on the floor and I thought he was going to cry. Vanilla ice cream on top is the way to go. Thanks for the recipe!! I will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Prairie Village, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2003
Oh boy! Was this ever a HUGE hit with my family and guests! The only modifications I made were: Instead of 1/3 C pure orange juice, I diluted it down with water, to make 1/3 C liquid. (I am not a big orange juice fan, so I adjusted it for my liking!) I used 4 Cups blueberries, because we had an overabundance of them, and didn't want them to go to waste. The blueberries bake down, and didn't overtake the entire cobbler. Finally, I doubled the topping, but found that the center did not cook fully, so next time I might only do it 1.5 times versus doubling the recipe. We will make this again and again! It is WONDERFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
There isn't enough crumb topping in this recipe, but this stuff tastes fan-friggin-tastic regardless! Recommend adding about 50%, or even doubling the crust portion of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2002
Wow! Delicious! I didn't have enough blueberries so I added several fresh peaches, peeled and cut into chunks. I also made a bit more crust, using a full cup of flour and portions of butter and vanilla to match. There are only four members in my family, and the cobbler lasted about 20 minutes. I'll have to double the recipe next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2002
Definitely better the next day - tasted too much like orange juice the day I baked it. Still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 515) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Blueberry Cobbler

This cobbler is bursting with blueberry flavor, a great summer dessert.

Very Best Blueberry Cobbler

A gooey blueberry cobbler with a light, cakey topping.

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States