Best Ever Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
Seriously.. stop writing reviews of 'best ever' when you changed the entire recipe!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1702 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Muskoka, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
Oh my GAAAAWWWDDDD! This was the BEST bread EVER! Here are the changes I made: * 1 cup of white sugar and 1/2 cup of packed brown sugar * add 1 tsp. vanilla * add 1 tsp. cinnamon * substitute apple sauce for the oil * cooked in a Pampered Chef mini loaf stone pan (4 small loaves) * sprinkled Ghiardelli chocolate cooking chips (60% cocoa) on top * cooked for 57 minutes * I used 3 overly ripe bananas, which was more than 1 cup It is so out of this world...chewy on the outside and moist and dense on the inside...but not overly sweet. I ate a whole mini loaf steaming right of the oven, b/c I couldn't stop. I'm going to go into a banana bread coma! Delicioso!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1463 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Georgia Sabovich

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Key West, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2003
This is wonderful. Yogurt works as well as buttermilk. I also accidentally found out that if you use vanilla yogurt instead of buttermilk, applesauce instead of oil, and cut out the sugar, it's a pretty good low fat, low sugar treat. Better if it sits for a day so the natural sugars can absorb. I've tweaked this recipe a lot and no matter how I make it it's wonderful! Thanks, Rose!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
697 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2003
Thanks, Rose, for a wonderful recipe. I have made this bread several times and it is definitely a favorite. For a simple topping, mix together 2 TBLS. each finely chopped nuts and granulated sugar with 1/2 tsp. cinnamon and a generous dash of nutmeg. Sprinkle on batter before baking and press lightly with the back of a spoon. This topping gives the bread a sweet crunch ~ delicious!! Thanks, again, for sharing!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
404 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2005
This is definitely THE BEST banana bread I've ever come across- but I swear I've made it even better. Try this- Take 4 oz. of room temp cream cheese, beat it together with 3T milk until smooth. Add 1 cup of powdered sugar and 1/2 t. vanilla and mix until incorporated. Drizzle this over your banana bread when it's done, take a bite and you will swear you've died and gone to heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
269 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2002
This banana bread lives up to its name as "best banana bread". It freezes perfectly and tasted just as good a week later as when I had just baked it. When I greased the loaf pan, I dusted the pan with sugar. This gave it a crunchy crust with a moist interior. Try this recipe! You won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
180 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
Wow! The title of the recipe couldn't be more fitting! This stuff is the best. I love banana bread and this one was very moist and oh so good. I used 3 overly ripe bananas that I mashed up so it was a little over 1 cup. I used 1 cup of white sugar and 1/2 cup of brown. I added 1 tsp. of vanilla and 1/2 tsp. of cinnamon. I left out the nuts, but next time I might add in some walnuts. I sprayed my glass pan with Pam for baking (a life saver) and baked it at 350 for a little over an hour. It smelled incredible and tasted even better - great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
142 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2007
This is an exccellent banana bread recipe. Most recipes I've tried turn out being dry or rather "blah". I gave this recipe 5 stars (despite some substitutions I made) because of the moistness and great flavor. I used vanilla yogurt rather than butt4rmilk, 1/2 cup white sugar and 1/2 cup brown sugar, an extra 1/2 cup of mashed banana (I had 4 banans that were beginning to look like a scienc project), an extra 1/4 of flour, and a heaping 1 tsp of cinnamon. I'm not telling my mom, but this recipe is better than hers. I will definitely be making banana bread more often now!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2005
This is a great recipe! To make it even better use brown sugar instead of white sugar, whipping cream instead of buttermilk and a bit of vanilla. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Okay, I've made lots of Banana Bread. This may satisy the palate of one who is used to eating out and eating processed foods, but if you are a down-to-earth, cook-everything-from-scratch kind of person, this recipe is not for you. Too sweet, crisp sides (due to the high level of sugar), and not a real banana flavor. It didn't peak and crest, but remained kind of flat (I'm guessing from the lower heating 325 for 1 and 1/2 hour instead of the standard 350 for 1 hour). It has taught me a lesson though . . .to stick with what works!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,233) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States