Best Egg Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
Since everyone in my family loves egg rolls, I decided to try my hand at making them at home, and I'm glad I did. I made them according to the recipe the first time,from then on, I improvise with what I have on hand. I never have peaunut oil, so I just use canola, even though peanut would be better, just too expensive. I also love to use fresh minced ginger and seasame oil. Since chicken has been cheaper these days, I poach a breast and shred. There are so many variations you can try, once you know the technique on how to make them. My family loves them with homemade egg drop soup. I have also used any left -over stuffing to make fried rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by indyjazzd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thorntown, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
My family loves these and they are super easy! I do add more garlic powder and ginger. Also add soy sauce. To make it super easy use a bag of coleslaw mix. Dinner or snack in no time flat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cueball869

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
Didn't think homemade could taste this good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenHanson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
Great recipe,tried it over 10 years ago. Now it's a favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joiedevie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
Very easy to make. A trick for cooking this recipe in oil: put in 3 at a time to cook fast. I let the meat rest a night, and made it easy to do the dishes! I was planning to make the wrappers, but I didn't want a huge mess. This is a recipe that doesn't make more than 8 if you use a 1/4 of a cup for the carrots, lettuce/cabbage, and meat mixutre. Good for parties with knowing it came from you kitchen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
I made this tonight but did a few changes . I used minced garlic, Added 2 Tablespoon Soy Sauce, 1/2 tsp Salt 1/2 tsp Pepper ( probably could add more seasoning to taste. I didn't want to over do it the first time) and 1/2 onion. Did not made flour paste just used water. I also Baked them at 400 for about 14 minutes. Baking them won't be as crispy as frying but I am staying with the healthier route. Served with Sweet and Sour Sauce.. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
These were ok. I didn't like the ground pork, it was too much like ground beef. I think next time i would use pork strips marinated in ahso sauce. Also I felt like it needed more seasoning, I also made vegetarian eggrolls using this as a base recipe but I added the ginger and garlic to the cabbage and carrots. I also added a tsp of soy sauce to the mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bunny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
These are WONDERFUL! I also used a bag of colesaw and 2 tsp garlic, 2 tsp ginger, 3 tsp soy sauce and 1 tsp seasame oil. They are absolutely amazing! using 1/3 cup measuring cup it made 15 egg rolls! Plan to freeze and warm up when we have chinese for supper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
Thank You Awesome Recipe, Exactly what I was looking for.... I will change up a little by Baking instead of frying the eggrolls
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Holland, Michigan, USA
Photo by afreeman82
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
Awesome recipes! Decided to cook the veggies in olive oil for about five minutes to 'soften' them. After mixing the meat and veggies together made a 'sauce' to pour over the mixture for added flavor. In a separate bowl mixed: 2 tablespoons of soy sauce, 2 tablespoons of sugar and 2 tablespoons of sweet and sour sauce. I poured this 'sauce' in the meat and veggies mixture prior to filling the egg rolls. This provided a lot of flavor and there was no need for extra sauce to dip the egg rolls in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 392) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Southwestern Egg Rolls

These delicious bites make an impressive brunch, dinner, or appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States