Best Egg Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
Tried it several times. I used Napa and Savoy cabbage at different times. I've also used onions, scallions, celery, and carrots when I didnt have cabbage. Delicious either way! Its foolproof...and easy..have also made my own wrappers..easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nicole
Reviewed: May 20, 2014
I hate egg rolls and made this for my other half and tried it myself!! Now myself and three others LOVE them!! I did tho add soy sauce like others says and extra garlic and ginger. :) came out amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by just_jam
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
these were delicious.. like Snowflake, i added some chinese 5 spice and like DEBK68 i used pork sausage (mild), i used fresh garlic and fresh ginger so we didn't have any issues with it being bland and probably added more carrot than called for.. we made 10 egg rolls in all and at the end i was adding a lot more stuffing b/c we only had 10 egg roll wrappers to use.. didn't add the flour and water mixture and also didn't precook the ingredients.. just mashed all together and added in raw.. the frying cooked it through (checked with meat thermometer).. ty so much for this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_jam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duarte, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Wonderful! I added extra cabbage and carrots. Also added soy sauce and lemon pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
This recipe is a great base! I'm sure it's bland if you follow it exactly, so read the reviews for additions! I cooked 1 lb. pork in a small-ish spaghetti pot. I seasoned it with 1 tsp each: ground ginger, garlic powder, onion powder, celery salt, Chinese 5 Spice (McCormick), and a few dashes of soy sauce. I then added a 16oz bag of coleslaw mix; it filled up the pot. I then re-seasoned again, the same as above and stirred to mix the cabbage and pork. Filled as directed, wetting my fingers with drops of water to seal instead of the "glue". They kept flipping themselves in the oil, but I had better luck by putting them in sealed-side down. Next time I won't add as much of the Chinese seasoning to the cabbage, probably only 1/2 tsp. It has cinnamon in it. However it did make a huge difference in making the egg rolls taste "Chinese". I made a total of 17 egg rolls with the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dondie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mounds, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Coweta, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
We ended up using the cole slaw mix, doubled the spices, used minced garlic instead of garlic powder, and skipped the flour mix to seal them. Water by itself works just fine. My Chinese food hating hubby ate 4 of these and asked me to start making them regularly. My only problem was how greasy they were but after research figured out what I did wrong. If the oil temp drops to much when you place them in to cook that happens. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
This was good. Only thing I did different was I added soy sauce and oyster sauce to the pork and instead of water and sugar I put cabbage carrots white onions in a pan sautéed and lite soy sauce then added the cooked pork to that. Also added cheddar cheese to the mixture
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
These were a hit for our family. Made a double batch(24)and there were 2 left after everyone ate. I added pepper, salt and soy sauce to the mixture because I also found it a little bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
These are very good, easy to make. I added extra ginger and garlic and the flavor was fantastic. Definitely keeping in my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
easy to make. I use a 14oz. pkg of coleslaw mix,added FRESH GINGER& FRESH GARLIC
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 415) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Irish Egg Rolls

Terrific fried appetizer with corned beef, cabbage and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States