Best Egg Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
Very greasy and mushy. Dont think I will be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
These are very good egg rolls if you'd like a simple recipe for them. These taste fantastic steamed instead of fried and dipped in Sweet and Sour Sauce 1 from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sadie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
I appreciate the straightforward directions in this recipe, because I'm always wary of making fried things. These wouldn't have been all that tasty if I hadn't incorporated other reviewers' suggestions, though, so I appreciate those as well. My adaptations: fresh grated ginger (1 tbsp) instead of the dried, fresh minced garlic (1 tbsp) in addition to the garlic powder, black pepper, numerous splashes of soy sauce, double the cabbage/carrot mixture (and I threw it in with the meat for a minute or so to wilt it a bit), and 1/4 cup green onions added to the filling mix after it was cooked. I don't know if doubling the veggies and using extra lean ground pork gave me twice as much filling as other reviewers or what, but I ended up getting 21 fat eggrolls (using the 7-inch wrapper, as specified) instead of the specified 8. The more the merrier, I guess! The recipe that came with the eggroll wrappers mentioned that you can bake these. I'm sure they're not as tasty that way, but it'd sure save on the cost of oil. Peanut oil is $$$$$$!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
we made these a couple weeks ago, we are making them again tonight.... They are wonderful. The recipe doesn't mention which type of cabbage but another recipe spoke of Savoy Cabbage Chinese cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I make this recipe with chicken instead of pork and its excellent that way too. The peanut oil makes for a lot of flavor. Just a hint: After taking the egg rolls out of the oil, prop them upright to set the oil drain off, otherwise its a greasy soggy mess. I don't recommend reheating these the next day. They become soggy mush.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jessandsam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
Very good. So much better than frozen and you made it so you know what is in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
I made these and my family loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking Queen23

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Harbor, Washington, USA
Living In: Marysville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
This is wonderful. I love egg rolls, but had never tried making them from scratch. I used leftover pork roast and omitted the sesame seeds, as a family preference. They were loved by all. I do think next time I will add a bit more garlic, ginger, and some soy sauce to the meat mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Contented Home-maker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Heltonville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
Made these today. I followed reviewers advice and doubled garlic, ginger and added soy sauce. I cooked pork with garlic and set aside. Cooked the carrots, cabbage, ginger and soy sauce in a couple of tablespoons of water until just wilted. Mixed all together and wrapped in eggroll wrappers then dropped into deep fryer with peanut oil. I halfed the recipe and one package of 30 ea eggroll wrappers was exactly right,right to the last wrapper. I didnot try them, not a big eggroll fan, but my daughter, who loves them and I made them for her, jumped right in and gave them 5 stars right off the bat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
Awesome starting point recipe. I added extra ginger, about 1/4 cup soy sauce, a can of bean sprouts and celery. I doubled the recipe this time because of my 4 teenage sons. They can't get enough. I also used chicken. Next time I'm going to use shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Hanley Froomkin
Home Town: Girard, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 415) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Irish Egg Rolls

Terrific fried appetizer with corned beef, cabbage and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States