Best Egg Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
I made these and my family loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking Queen23

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Harbor, Washington, USA
Living In: Marysville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
This is wonderful. I love egg rolls, but had never tried making them from scratch. I used leftover pork roast and omitted the sesame seeds, as a family preference. They were loved by all. I do think next time I will add a bit more garlic, ginger, and some soy sauce to the meat mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Heltonville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
Made these today. I followed reviewers advice and doubled garlic, ginger and added soy sauce. I cooked pork with garlic and set aside. Cooked the carrots, cabbage, ginger and soy sauce in a couple of tablespoons of water until just wilted. Mixed all together and wrapped in eggroll wrappers then dropped into deep fryer with peanut oil. I halfed the recipe and one package of 30 ea eggroll wrappers was exactly right,right to the last wrapper. I didnot try them, not a big eggroll fan, but my daughter, who loves them and I made them for her, jumped right in and gave them 5 stars right off the bat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
Awesome starting point recipe. I added extra ginger, about 1/4 cup soy sauce, a can of bean sprouts and celery. I doubled the recipe this time because of my 4 teenage sons. They can't get enough. I also used chicken. Next time I'm going to use shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Hanley Froomkin
Home Town: Girard, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
My family gobbles these up whenever I make them! Must use Sweet Chili Sauce for dipping for an over the top authentic asian taste!! Chili sauce goes PERFECTLY with these even though I know it's a Thai condiment. (Mae Ploy is brand I use and can find it in my local Walmart). I too doubled seasoning as it tasted too bland as called for. Also, no need to make flour paste. Dipping your fingers in water and smoothing on seams does the exact same job. Lastly, I mix the seasoned pork immediately after cooking with the cabbage & carrots ahead of time and let sit so the flavors blend together. It also makes the vegetables limp so they're fully cooked after I deep fry them. Canola oil works just great if you don't have peanut oil or if allergic. I keep the pork mixture in fridge for a few days and can assemble and fry in no time for a quick snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cabot, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
Wish I could give it 10 stars! Crispy and delicious! Add other stuff to the filling if you want to, or just make it as written - great either way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Great Falls, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
Delicious! We used sausage in lieu of pork as suggested and my family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
Super easy! I'm seriously impressed with myself for even trying this recipe. The more I rolled, the better I got!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bedford, Texas, USA
Living In: Midland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
I am giving this 4 stars instead of 5 simply because it sounded just a bit to blan for me. I changed the recipe to my liking but cannot rate this recipe for my creation. This recipe however is a great starting point for those who have never made egg rolls before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DelightfulDines

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
As is? Too meaty and too bland. After realizing this, I added bean sprouts, a teensy tiny hit of sesame oil and some plum sauce. Money. Used fresh ginger and some broccoli slaw and regular cole slaw instead of just cabbage and carrots and chose to cook that with the pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 399) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Southwestern Egg Rolls

These delicious bites make an impressive brunch, dinner, or appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States