Best Egg Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
Wonderful recipe.. however, I never make egg rolls without adding some Chinese Five Spice blend. For those who feel there's not enough flavour, try it. I also use grated fresh ginger & garlic. I've served these to Asian friends and even they have asked for my recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lightedway
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
Love these. This recipe is easy to follow and versatile. I used roast pork instead of ground. Fried in veggie oil. Added green onions and 2 Tbs of Oyster Sauce to the pork mixture. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lightedway

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Niantic, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
Ratio of meat to cabbage was way off. We added a lot to make this work. During the cooking I got curious so I looked up other egg roll recipies on other sites and decided to doubled the cabbage, added soy sauce, added some scrambled egg, etc. Still seemed like too much pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
these really were the best egg rolls and were so easy to make...I didn't add sesame seeds at the end and did add alfalfa sprouts to the cabbage mixture but they were still awesome!!! My family and co-workers are already requesting for me to make them again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chinesefoodlover

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Excellent! Not 5 stars, because I did make some changes. I used fresh ginger, instead of dried. I also doubled the pork mix, and then split it in 2 bowls. In 1, I used a coleslaw bagged mix, in the other a broccoli slaw bagged mix. Then, I sprinkled some soy into each bowl, maybe a Tbs, and some sesame oil, maybe a Tsp. Used canola oil. These are so easy and SO delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommaBird+3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Maine, USA
Living In: Vassalboro, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Delicious! Very fresh tasting. I ground my own pork and find frying pretty hot is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
These were wonderful! I will use this recipe often. I made a couple of changes. I used 2 cans of chicken breast meat, browned in margarine with a little black pepper and onion powder. I used half a bag of coleslaw mix, sauteed with soy sauce and lemon pepper seasoning until wilted. Then I used canola oil to fry them since I didn't have peanut oil. They were so easy and full of flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMCookinNow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
Very greasy and mushy. Dont think I will be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
These are very good egg rolls if you'd like a simple recipe for them. These taste fantastic steamed instead of fried and dipped in Sweet and Sour Sauce 1 from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sadie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
I appreciate the straightforward directions in this recipe, because I'm always wary of making fried things. These wouldn't have been all that tasty if I hadn't incorporated other reviewers' suggestions, though, so I appreciate those as well. My adaptations: fresh grated ginger (1 tbsp) instead of the dried, fresh minced garlic (1 tbsp) in addition to the garlic powder, black pepper, numerous splashes of soy sauce, double the cabbage/carrot mixture (and I threw it in with the meat for a minute or so to wilt it a bit), and 1/4 cup green onions added to the filling mix after it was cooked. I don't know if doubling the veggies and using extra lean ground pork gave me twice as much filling as other reviewers or what, but I ended up getting 21 fat eggrolls (using the 7-inch wrapper, as specified) instead of the specified 8. The more the merrier, I guess! The recipe that came with the eggroll wrappers mentioned that you can bake these. I'm sure they're not as tasty that way, but it'd sure save on the cost of oil. Peanut oil is $$$$$$!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 412) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Southwestern Egg Rolls

These delicious bites make an impressive brunch, dinner, or appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States