Best Egg Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
I made this recipe using a coleslaw mix instead of cabbage and carrots. We thought they were a little bland on their own, but were great with a dipping sauce. I will try adding a little more ginger and garlic next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
These were good. Try adding 1tbsp of oyster sauce to the mix. It adds a unique taste. Also, instead of using the flour paste, use eggs whites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny Young

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
I hated them, but my family liked them, so I gave it an "OK". In my opinion, the filling was very bland and boring, even following the advice of others to double the amount of garlic and ginger. I've never followed this recipe before, and usually make my own with healthier doses of carrots, tons of fresh minced garlic and ginger root. Maybe the lack of fresh ingredients, and just a bunch of pork and cabbage was why they were so blah? Anyway, they get at least one star for being super easy to make. My family actually likes bland food (baked chicken and white rice kind of people), so they were great for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
These were fantastic! The first batch we deep fried and that's the best way to do them. We had put the others into bake.....not near as good. We will definitely be making these a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jimnan
Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
Tried it several times. I used Napa and Savoy cabbage at different times. I've also used onions, scallions, celery, and carrots when I didnt have cabbage. Delicious either way! Its foolproof...and easy..have also made my own wrappers..easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nicole
Reviewed: May 20, 2014
I hate egg rolls and made this for my other half and tried it myself!! Now myself and three others LOVE them!! I did tho add soy sauce like others says and extra garlic and ginger. :) came out amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by just_jam
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
these were delicious.. like Snowflake, i added some chinese 5 spice and like DEBK68 i used pork sausage (mild), i used fresh garlic and fresh ginger so we didn't have any issues with it being bland and probably added more carrot than called for.. we made 10 egg rolls in all and at the end i was adding a lot more stuffing b/c we only had 10 egg roll wrappers to use.. didn't add the flour and water mixture and also didn't precook the ingredients.. just mashed all together and added in raw.. the frying cooked it through (checked with meat thermometer).. ty so much for this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Wonderful! I added extra cabbage and carrots. Also added soy sauce and lemon pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
This recipe is a great base! I'm sure it's bland if you follow it exactly, so read the reviews for additions! I cooked 1 lb. pork in a small-ish spaghetti pot. I seasoned it with 1 tsp each: ground ginger, garlic powder, onion powder, celery salt, Chinese 5 Spice (McCormick), and a few dashes of soy sauce. I then added a 16oz bag of coleslaw mix; it filled up the pot. I then re-seasoned again, the same as above and stirred to mix the cabbage and pork. Filled as directed, wetting my fingers with drops of water to seal instead of the "glue". They kept flipping themselves in the oil, but I had better luck by putting them in sealed-side down. Next time I won't add as much of the Chinese seasoning to the cabbage, probably only 1/2 tsp. It has cinnamon in it. However it did make a huge difference in making the egg rolls taste "Chinese". I made a total of 17 egg rolls with the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dondie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mounds, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Coweta, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
We ended up using the cole slaw mix, doubled the spices, used minced garlic instead of garlic powder, and skipped the flour mix to seal them. Water by itself works just fine. My Chinese food hating hubby ate 4 of these and asked me to start making them regularly. My only problem was how greasy they were but after research figured out what I did wrong. If the oil temp drops to much when you place them in to cook that happens. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 399) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Southwestern Egg Rolls

These delicious bites make an impressive brunch, dinner, or appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States