Best Easy Chicken Croquettes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
I've tried many different chicken croquette recipes and this was the best tasting and the easiest of them all. I will be saving this one. I don't like crunch so I substituted onion power and celery seed for actual onion and celery. I used the experience I had making these before and decided to add half a beaten egg to the mixture and a little additional bread crumbs to get the constancy right. I use the remaining egg plus another for use as an egg wash before coating the croquettes in bread crumbs. I also deep fried them for added flavor and because I felt it would be hard to cook them evenly as described in the recipe given their shape. I almost made them into patties to allow for even cooking but felt they just wouldn't be croquettes. They came out perfect. They held together just fine and had great flavor and that's what I was looking for in a good croquette recipe. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phillipsburg, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Easton, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
Wasn't quite the recipe I thought it would be. Maybe it's something I did wrong in making them, but this just didn't do it for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
These were very good. I didn't have any celery so just omitted it. I did add some garlic and basil and fried them in margarine. I didn't realize I had ran out of oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
These are very good. My mother-in-law makes chicken croquettes and these have passed the husband test. One of my favorite uses for leftover chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
fun to make and tasty. A tad bit on the salty side but we did enjoy them as late night movie snacks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
Winner! Also a great way to use your leftover chicken or turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
I used a leftover roasted chicken and followed the recipe exactly. We really did not care for this one. Something was missing but I can't put my finger on it. I through out what was left. The idea is great though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dillsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
Didin't have fresh onion so I used dehydrated dry from the pantry and it worked just fine. If you're not crazy about crunch, saute the celery a little bit first. Otherwise, these are delish and a great way to get rid of that leftover chicken. I served with mashed potatoes (cheated and used boxed) and leftover greenbeans. Great meal for a cold Northwest Sunday afternoon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clearview

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
Excellent. I love finding tasty dishes with minimal ingredients and time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
followed this exactly and they aren't very good at all...definitely not what an authentic chicken croquette taste like nor do they taste anything like the frozen version from the grocery store either..sorry they were very dry and bland..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Quick and Easy Chicken

This tangy chicken dish is ready in about 30 minutes.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States